April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triangles

by DaGamesta - Jam Entry

All right, so before we get all critical, I ended up only being able to spend about 12-13 hours on this game this weekend, and frankly I think it's a gamble that didn't work out. This was also my first LD alone, I think I did a much better job as just the programmer on a team last time. It was originally going to have an ending, 3 levels, etc, but for now just think of it as a short arcade game.

That being said...

This is Triangles, a game about... er... triangles. Being minimalist as it is I would prefer not to have to give too many instructions, just know that you need to use the arrow keys to direct your triangle(s).

If you really need instructions, get close to triangles of another color to turn them into your own color, but beware of the big triangles, and don't let yourself get swarmed; they can change you into their color as well!

All programming, art (er, shapes?) and the non-existant sound/music was done by me. Towards the end when I knew I wasn't going to make the 48 hour deadline, I was also helped with ideas and playtesting by a friend of mine who goes by Sqwarecircle.

Game was programmed in Java using the standard Java libraries, in the Eclipse IDE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Theme(Jam)3.38
#337Innovation(Jam)2.76
#523Fun(Jam)2.05
#542Overall(Jam)2.19
#550Graphics(Jam)1.62
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

The concept is quite cool, it was confusing at first but I read the entry. I think the biggest improvement would be to shift the colours faster so that the gameplay is more dynamic - I found that I could just collect a few triangles and then wait for them. When I wanted to "go out and explore" I ended up being overwhelmed.

I was really hoping for a "I AM POWERFUL!" moment as well, when your swarm got so big that you could just faceroll everything. It was really exciting to watch your swarm grow over time and how you became dissociated from your triangle as the group got larger and larger.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Hm. Runs unplayably slow on my computer, though I haven't had problems with other Java entries.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Hah, yeah, if you want power you can go to the last LD game I'd made with some others, though I was originally going to do that here as well before being forced into making it more of a "survive as long as you can" game, there'll probably be a post mortem.

Shift the colors faster, eh... you may have a point there, thanks for the advice. :)

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02am

@Jiggawatt Yeah, I've done a few things I shouldn't that's probably making it less efficient than it should be. I'll be fixing that in the post-mortem.

Otoris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

I really do like the concept! Nice that is was only with half a day of work.

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

uuuhhh very confusing but interesting concept! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

dagamesta> dont mean to get personal but your picture looks very familiar -- you're name isnt gordon by any chance is it?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21am

perfect game for the theme -- little confusing to play -- nice effort all around!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Good game. Very hard and quite complicated to understand the mechanic.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Great work for 12-13 hours!...

alts says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:16am

Congratulations on your first solo LD entry. Even if it didn't go quite as expected. I think this can serve as the basis of something rather good. I'd imagine there being some sort of goal object you need to pick up (in a similar way to how reds are picked up), but the player would have to scope out the area and lead reds away from the escape path before making an attempt on the goal object.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]