April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

mz

by rogerklotz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Navigate the maze by tilting your device. Find the green square to advance to the next level. Each level is bigger and more challenging than the last. Use bombs to blow holes in the walls when you need to.

Note: The game was designed to be played on an android device, so if you have one I recommend that over the PC version.

Tools used:
Eclipse - IDE
Libgdx - framework
Paint.NET - 1 font, clock graphic, screen shots
Hiero - other font
Sfxr - sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#92Fun3.65
#216Overall3.54
#358Theme3.74
#451Innovation3.25
#927Audio2.03
#951Graphics2.54
#1055Humor1.36
#1070Mood2.31

Comments

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Fun little maze-solver. The best part is how it zooms out at the end and shows you where you've gone. Can get tricky; one time I found myself trapped in a closed room, and was forced to use a bomb to get out.

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Thanks! Yep, it is sometimes possible to get trapped in a room, but usually it will only take 1 or 2 bombs to get out.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Is there anyway you could export for windows?

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

Yes, just uploaded the executable jar. I recommend turning up the sensitivity a bit if you find yourself moving the cursor off the screen.

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

Always a fan of destructible environments!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Really creative. Maximizing the window gives a little advantage, though. I think it's a great idea.

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

Quite fun. Try constraining the mouse to the window?

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very nice. I can see how it might be pretty relaxing to play on a tablet or phone, it was pretty fun navigating on the computer as well. I got up to around lvl 23 before I got lost and didn't have enough time left. Could be interesting to see a leaderboard of who got the furthest.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

I tried this from the executable jar file and then downloaded it onto my phone and I have to say, somehow tilting the phone around makes this a whole lot more fun. To anyone rating this, I would recommend trying it on an android device if they can, it's pretty neat. I've always liked maze generators like this, and this is pretty polished for being so, well, minimalist.

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

nice little game - minimalistic, simple, fun. A little background music would have been nice, but other than that it's really well done!

In case anyone wonders: the .jar works well on 64-bit Linux with OpenJDK.

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

Thanks everyone for the nice comments!

@DkCub23 actually the viewport stays the same regardless of window size.

@DreamThorn unfortunately I couldn't find a way to constrain the mouse to the window unless you go full screen. But it helps if you increase the sensitivity and maximize the window.

@aeveis level 23 is really good, I've only gotten to 20 myself. The map keeps getting bigger until level 100, it gets pretty crazy huge (1024x1024).

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Interesting game!

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Wow, that's a really neat game idea, especially enjoyed it on the tablet. You could totally expand on this.

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

Fun game! I love seeing the organic-looking maps after the zoom out.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

Runs perfectly on Nexus 7. Bit irritating to flip the device 360... might be nicer with a phone.

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

What do you mean flip it 360? Would it help to increase the sensitivity?

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03am

Can you host the android .apk file somewhere? I can't access google play on my device :( Thanks!

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

Yes, just added it. Let me know if it works for you.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57am

I got to level 18 before I realized I could plant bombs - whoops! It's pretty satisfying to rip through these levels.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

After a few tries I got to lvl21, the distance counter & bombs make for really fun maze nav, excellent work! Runs great on kindle btw, really responsive. Thanks for uploading the .apk :)

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23am

Perfect fits the theme and highly polished. Nice one.

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:17am

Very fun playing from a tablet. Like a mix between those old marble and hole mazes with the treasure room from gauntlet. Speaking of which, adding some +time items or something could really add tension, though I guess it'd be less minimalistic.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

That's a pretty good game for 48 hours!
Good use of the device features (accelerometer, vibration).
The button display are bugged on my nexus 4 (I can see the image font in the background of the button)

Szedouu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:26am

Great idea! very minimalistic and fun game, difficult maze is difficult :D

alts says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:28am

Wish I had a mobile device to play this on. Enjoyed it quite a bit. I like the idea of a navigating a maze with imperfect information (limited view and direct distance measurement). I think the bomb might actually be extraneous, so long as levels are generated in such a way to ensure that all tiles can be reached.

Broxxar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Really cool. Love the representation of distance from the goal, and the bombs that cost time. A really neat game, would make for a cool tablet game.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:08pm

The burrowing action and rapidly changing numbers/direction arrow give the character an insect-like quality. Great level generator and use of the accelerometer!

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Just as the theme ordered: minimal!
A good and very playable game design and well executed.
I like it.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:12pm

REALLY Fun game - I can't put it down!

One thing though: the tilt isn't very level - perhaps an option to change what's classed as level and what's tilted in the options menu would fix this?

May 9, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Innovative, fun and really enjoyed it! Enjoyed the zooming out at the end though would've liked it to be slower so I could look at it closer.

tudd says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

nice! got to level 25 with no bombs.

maybe if you could only see your number in certain azones the game would be harder.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:03am

Simple but efficient gameplay. It's the first time I wander in a labyrinth with a distance number as compass and it works great. Fun game

pansapiens says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:01am

Accelerometer was a little too sensitive for my tastes (at least on my tablet), but it played nicely once I got the hang of it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]