April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic Potato

by Crynix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wasn't planning on doing Ludum Dare this weekend, but when I saw that the bonus theme was potatoes, I had to participate. After a little less than an hour of work and many hours of waiting for Google Play, I'm proud to present Minimalistic Potato.

I like to think of Minimalistic Potato as a reflection on the ephemerality of the human condition. Interpret it how you wish though. Potatoes gonna potate.

Promotional video: http://youtu.be/bg5JzO168Pk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Humor3.85
#458Theme3.63
#652Graphics2.91
#743Mood2.70
#935Fun2.57
#1034Innovation2.41
#1169Overall2.50
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

NateAGeek says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

10/10 BEST GAME! SO MODERN YET RETRO! NO ONE HAVE EVER DONE THIS! GAME OF THE YEAR *****

Haette says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

money goes where?

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:07am

I have been encouraged to up the quality of my game after i saw this. Though I doubt I can even compare with this.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 8:36am

haters gonna hate - potatoes gonna potate! :D

Cirrial says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 8:41am

I laughed, I cried, I potato.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Potato or not Potato?
I think I'm gonna Potato.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

If this doesn't win I don't know what will :/

Swingtop says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

I can't kill the end boss.

Harsay says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I forgot how to potato

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I think we need more games like this in our industry.
For example, kids will gladly throw money at every other game that comes out, but you sir, are truly an artist. This game is so emotional, and it is astounding how you could have made it in such a short time.

THE NEXT SECTION CONTAINS SPOILERS!

<spoilers>
The ending was absolutely phenomenal. I'm not sure if this game has multiple endings or not, but I am definitely going to play again to find out. The moment where he potated, I couldn't not cry at the look in his eyes. It was wonderful, and I am glad to have played such a stellar game. I love you.
</spoilers>

tower07 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Anyone got a walkthrough? I got stuck about ~2 hours into the game.

Kotstulle says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 7:33pm

that was absolutely potating! :)

foxter888 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 8:19pm

i have no idea what i'm going in it.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

I love it! :D

ps3master72 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

oh my potato, i almost potato at the end

beshr says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

It's a Potatoresting!

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

I lost my potato off-screen!! :(

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Wow! This game's totally potatoing!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Hmm, got stuck on level potato..

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05am

Marvelous by dear sir, You have seem to struck an awe-inspiring intersection between the insightfullness of the thematicity of minimalism whilst not letting it overshadow it sublimirary thematic use of that is at the root of it all.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

potatos gonna potate!

:D

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I lost my potato off-screen too!!

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I'm stuck. The first 3 Levels where easy, but the fight against the deep fryer just before the ketchup ocean storm is to hard!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Now I can Die.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Um, very nice potato?

Typedeaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

it's a reflection on the ephemerality of the human condition

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Tuber

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

10 potatoes out of 10.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

lol

Gnux says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:34pm

HOLY SHIT MY BRAIN EXPLODED

Tater_hater says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

well... it had potatoes

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:24am

Ok now i've downloaded it on my smartphone.
I hate u.
Probably I'll fail my univerity exams 'cause of you...

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:35pm

lols... So, deep. XD

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:43am

I had trouble playing, framerate was too potato.

jontturi says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:33pm

"Do I need to comment to rate"
AKA
Why does my rating not work

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Hehe, the potatoest thing in this entry is the comment section. Laughed hard :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]