April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sunset Death

by DrGeraud - Jam Entry

Hi everyone !

*SOLO MODE IS POST JAM*

Here is my game, made in 72 hours : Sunset Death.

Sunset Death is a 2 player duel game:
- The goal is to kill your opponent 3 times before he does the same.
- You can dash, backdash (both only once in a fight) and slash with your sword.

Controls are simples:
- P1: s (backdash) d (slash) f (dash)
- P2: l (backdash) k (slash) j (dash)

The game is a mix of reflexes, mindgame and alea. But the most important is that it keep the fight simple. Everything is in the atmosphere.

This is my first time making a game in solo, my first time doing art for game and my first time animating something. That was REALLY TOUGH !

Softwares :
- Photoshop
- Construct 2
- Audacity

Hope you'll enjoy it.


HEY, LISTEN !
- THE SOLO MODE IS POST-JAM
- Please, if you like the game, live a vote or a comment in the newgrounds page. Thanks !
- IF YOUR PLAYING ON I.E : there might be no sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#12Graphics(Jam)4.56
#22Mood(Jam)4.00
#89Overall(Jam)3.64
#97Audio(Jam)3.52
#133Innovation(Jam)3.40
#166Humor(Jam)2.62
#167Fun(Jam)3.17
#215Theme(Jam)3.43

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

Love the look! It's also nice to see a multiplayer entry. Couldn't understand what I needed to do at first. Keys didn't perform the same action on occasion - sometimes I would walk backwards and other times I would slash. Would also like to see some audio. Thanks for sharing!

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I got a Dropbox 404 :(

DrGeraud says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I'm fixing that Jonny, sorry !

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Très stylisé, j'adore. Et puis le multijoueur fonctionne très bien point de vue Fun. Bien joué !

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Great atmosphere, style, and animations. It took me a few rounds to really get the timing. It would have been great if there was an option to play the computer.

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

well done! beautiful graphics! it will awesome if you put a single-player mode =)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Ah, looks like we made sort of similar games :) Love the art style and was nice to see a 2 player game. Great job!

zazery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34pm

The attention to detail in the animations is incredible and the gameplay feels pretty tight. I'm a big fan of local multiplayer games so I'll try it when my friends are over.

I think it would look even better at 2x pixel resolution. Both Chrome and Firefox make the edges fuzzy when zooming in.

DrGeraud says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Thanks !
Maybe I'll add a single player mode later, but I have a lot of work to do and playing the game alone would take of lot of interest from the game.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Wonderful!

KevinLaity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19am

Great look, good audio, fits with the theme!

Unfortunately, no single player option

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

The graphics were gorgeous, and the game had a simple and dark mood to it, and the ambient atmosphere helped that. Unfortunately, the game got very boring very quickly, and it didn't take me very long to stop playing, let alone asking a friend to play it with me. Sorry!

atraxgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:40am

Best graphic style i've seen so far

ataxkt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:09am

Classy! 5 stars! Can I ask why you chose to use SDF instead of the more standard ASD?

DrGeraud says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:16am

Ataxkt --> I choose SDF + JKL because thoose keys are at the same position for both azerty and qwerty keybords.

Nezzhil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44pm

A new classic game. 30 minutes playing with my coworker. 5/5. :O

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very nice multiplayer game.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:45pm

That was awesome. Great concept and fantastic artwork.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Simple but stylish!

rujo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:55am

i simply love this entry. with a single player mode it could be perfect!

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Nice game. I love the art style. It was fun to play against my friend. Perhaps you could add some music to make it more interesting. Also a sound effect when you hit each other would be nice. Good job!

DrGeraud says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Thijsku --> There are sounds and music, but I think it doesn't work on i.e. or old versions of firefox. Sorry ! :/

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:19am

Too bad there wasn't a single player option... I don't think the AI would be too hard to program (at least I hope not.) Nonetheless, it has a lot of flair and replayability in its current form. The graphics were gorgeous, the gameplay smooth, and the audio fittingly sparse. Congrats on your quality LD entry!

Husky says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:39am

Pretty simple but fun!
I like the ambient and mood, it's really awesome!

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:03am

Love the look too!

Jonny D says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Alright, I got back to it. The style is great. I only would have liked animated clouds. I think I would have liked it to be a bit faster, too. If the dodging recovered quickly it might be more fun hopping around as you pass for another slash. I played by myself and it seemed like the left player won on draws. Maybe it should be random?

mrx says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Really great artwork there man! I didn't enjoy the mechanic that much, but good job on making something.
I didn't understand why you could back dash but then not slash again.

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:04pm

W0W! Beautiful graphics and sharp sounds enthralled me. If you continue to develop this, I was not clear on the controls and the delays between button presses and the animation. I had been expecting the animated actions to respond instantaneously.

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Great graphics and very nice mood. Love the sunset :)

I played with a friend so I can also rate the gameplay. Its really fun and yet so simple.
But nevertheless a additional singleplayer would be great.

Great job.

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:39am

Great graphics. Gameplay might be a little too simple though.

Jacic says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Very nice graphics and sound, and it's fun!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Solid 5-star entry. Great work on all aspects, this is pretty amazing work :) The little details all really add up.

itsZN says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Very nice graphics, and minimal style, nice multiplier game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]