April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rect

by Esenti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea is simple - when the level starts, the map is as simple as possible. When you collect items, it gets more complex, revealing new thing that you can use to move further and eventually find the exit.

Controls:
A/D - move
W - jump
R - restart level
ESC - go to menu
SPACE - choose menu option


The game is made with Python + PyGame, so you will need to have PyGame installed to run it in Python. There's also executable version for Windows.

Also - first time making a game for LD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#840Theme3.24
#855Innovation2.73
#940Fun2.56
#962Audio1.94
#1043Humor1.44
#1070Mood2.31
#1095Graphics2.30
#1132Overall2.56

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Hm I stuck in the 2. Level.. I can not collect all of the "coins"

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Neat concept - forces you to find a least-time solution to each level in order to access the tools you need to finish. Perhaps if the coins respawned after a (long) while though? That could help while you're trying to "solve" a level.

stefan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

That game is not as easy as it seems, there were several points where I didn't know what to do. But finally, I solved all levels :)

This is a good little game, which fits the theme nicely. Some music and more levels would have been great, but all in all I like it and it runs perfectly. Thanks for this game.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:12am

Nice little puzzle game.

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:37am

I won! It said so \o/
I'm quite fond of the idea of a game that changes its visual look reminiscing different style of the Atari age of gaming. At least that's what it looked to me, well done :-)
Would have been nice if the game recognized fail-state itself.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:19pm

I did get a few levels in, but I had trouble understanding why the items would appear sometimes and not other times. Was it a matter of the specific order I collect them in? Also, a hint that "R" restarts would have been useful in the instructions! :)

JayPC000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I dont mind the game, I ended up beating it, but the problem I ran into is that If I dont manage to beat the level in the first go I have to start the level over, but it never tells you(I had to figure it out on my own) that you can press R to restart the level. I was thinking a cool thing to do might be that collecting a coin adds time to the clock and saves what time you collected it at, then when the time goes below that time the coin reappears. that way if you mess up the level, the coins all eventually reappear. or something to that effect.

Anyway Good concept, but I think the execution needed a bit more thought.

JayPC000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31pm

"Also, a hint that "R" restarts would have been useful in the instructions! :)" What Tom 7 Said.

agreed, Its not obvious in game that R restarts. you HAVE to have been told or looked here to get the controls. And I generally Download the games here and don't look at the posts till after i've played it so I don't ruin the experience

ohsqueezy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28pm

It took me a while to get past level one, but once I did, the rest of the levels were no problem. Cool idea! I'm glad I got to play the full game.

On a side note, if you press the direction keys randomly while the first level loads or while a level restarts, you can get into an area that lets you float down into a yellow screen.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Really creative idea. Fortunately I read the README so I knew to press R, I can easily see that being a problem. My main suggestion would be to change the countdown bar. Instead of having it wrap around to 0 at each level, just have one long bar with markers where you transition between the levels... if that makes sense.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Haha, that was really cool. I love the level upgrades being a temporary thing but I agree with ignifluous that perhaps respawning the coins after a long time or at least a pop-up box saying "You can no longer complete the level, try again?" and then restarting the level would be nice. I wandered aimlessly in the second level before realizing that I would not be able to beat it.

All in all though, very clever design! :)

CiderPunk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:43am

WASD are great for fps games when yer using a mouse, but for a platform game where they're the only keys i'd rather use my right hand!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:30am

Interesting idea, I liked how it was executed. Could turn into a very challenging/interesting game if there was time for more levels. Still very nice work though.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I quite liked that, however there are still some bugs. If you collect coins out-of-order, then the end of level trigger never appears and the level is rendered unwinnable. I thought the graphic style was really quite nice, and the colour palette was well thought out. You might be able to make the jump motion a little smoother (i.e. parabolic) to improve the overall feel of the game for a post-compo project. :)

Dir3kt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Got stuck at level 3, exit wasn't appearing. It's a good concept and from what I saw, it was fun. The colors are maybe too dark and similar, had to get closer to screen to see what I'm doing.

fueelin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I really liked this. Wish it was longer, and some of the time limits could have been a bitter more generous I think. Good job!

free_napalm says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Nice concept - you have to speed run the game to win it. It would have been nice to know what appears in advance (faded out trampolines/goals) so you can really plan ahead.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I love this game! Great concept which you really should continue working on. You can do a lot of twists with it. Too bad there weren't that many levels!

dertom says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:26am

Hmm,...since I'm a linux guy I played the python-version using pygame. Works well but even though I collected all items that exit-object won't appear!?
Since most people are able to play I assume it is just me :D
(Or the python-archive is not uptodate!?)

May 12, 2013 @ 11:49am

Pretty clever puzzle/platformer once I understood the mechanic. The game definitely isn't clear in that respect, as many have already mentioned. Great job on your first LD!

dick_claus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:40am

Pretty nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]