April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ai'n Av Diortem

by awppy - Jam Entry

WARNING: If the game crashes immediately, it means you don't have either XNA 3.1 or .NET 3.5 installed.

Requires .NET Framework 3.5 and XNA Game Studio 3.1 to run. Get them here:

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=21
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=15163

Updates: v0.1.1 - removed unused audio files, fixed a bug where audio wouldn't loop
Updates: v0.1.2 - fixed a tiny bug where jumping off the right side of a ledge wasn't detecting the player's footing correctly, fixed a tiny hiccup in the BGM (export error).

Source added. Witness the chaos first-hand, should you please.

Ai'n Av Diortem is a side-scrolling run-and-gun Metroidvania-style game where you lose upgrades as you progress, and are forced to come up with new solutions to old problems.

Unfortunately, we weren't able to execute on that idea within the allotted jam time. :( But the heart's there!

OH GOD DEADLINE. We got way too ambitious with this one, but are still thrilled with the end product and are already making plans to take it further (and actually finish it). Here are some of the assets created for the game that had to be cut due to time restraints:

-Additional enemies
-Weapon swapping graphics
-A full 7-track OST (2 tracks made it into the game)
-Sound effects

If you like the "demo" (I feel bad calling it that, honestly) and want to give the game a shot once it's more fleshed out, keep an eye on beardedpixel.net - it should find its way there when it's ready in a month or two.

NEW: May 15th, 2013: From this Friday, our team is doing another game jam to (attempt to) finish what we started! We will likely be streaming at http://twitch.tv/wanyodos (mostly art) and if you're really lucky, also at http://twitch.tv/awppy (mostly coding and game testing, but I'm not sure what my laptop can handle)


Also try Funky Lincoln Saves The Day! (no affiliation)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=17841

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#86Humor(Jam)3.10
#217Audio(Jam)3.07
#230Graphics(Jam)3.36
#252Fun(Jam)2.96
#279Mood(Jam)2.91
#292Overall(Jam)3.07
#429Innovation(Jam)2.42
#556Theme(Jam)2.04

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

It's really hard !

nocturnecoonz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

The game seems fun and the music is catchy. Can't wait to see what comes out of this. ^_^

May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

Wow the graphics are awesome, nice work on the game! :D ... "Im just going to push buttons randomly until something magical happens" FUNNY line XD

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28am

When I try to run it, it just says that the program has stopped working and refuses to open.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:02am

The game doesn't load, it just says that it stopped working. :(

awppy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

@Tyro and ahm99 - that means you don't have the system requirements mentioned at the top. You need both the XNA redist and .NET framework installed on your machine for the game to run. If you have Windows 7, you should only need to download the XNA framework. If you're still having problems after that, I'd love for you to hit me up on twitter (@LordGarvar) so I can get it sorted out. Or, if you don't have twitter, through email: aw _at_ ppy _dot_ sh

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

BIGGEST LETDOWN IN THE HISTORY OF EVER!

Just kidding, I really enjoyed it. The controls were really finicky but hey just call it an "I wanna be the guy fangame" and you'll be golden :)

Wish there was more polish, a fullscreen mode, and yes, yes, actual boss battles!

I really loved some small details like the recoil, the mega-huge explosions, and the really snappy enemies. Great work!

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Not too much minimal, but nice concept and nice game.

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Great game, its reminds me Castlevania :D, but im really curious, why did you used XNA 3 instead of XNA 4? , also is a shame not provide the source code :(

awppy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:01am

@nddrylliod: those are all coming, but we didn't have time to get them in during the jam D:

@infinitedog: the idea behind the game was starting out with everything and working toward minimalism through the gameplay but it's not quite there yet

@hgouveia I originally got started on XNA 3.1 and haven't had incentive to update. I'll put the source code up as soon as I get it all in one place (working on that now). I've just been very, very busy lately. And tired.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

Worked great with a 360 controller! Nice graphics, it seems like you have a cool little engine there.

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:35am

Cool project! The platforming controls could use a little tightening up but it definitely has the feel of a great game in the making! I really hope it doesn't lose its sense of humor in the finishing process, I'd love to see this character's reaction to losing all his stuffs :)

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23am

Hey, first of all let me say: glad to hear you like our game (Funky Lincoln). We just uploaded the post-jam version of the game with many improvements.
Now to your game: I was really surprised by the game. Even though it is short you can see that a lot of work and polishing went into the title (I really liked the lighting by from the explosions)
Good work and good luck on your plans to further improve it.

awppy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16pm

@KilledByAPixel wow, I'm surprised you thought to give it a go with the 360 controller - I coded support for it but didn't document it anywhere except in the actual code, hah!

@Jyrkface Agreed; the movement and aiming controls need tightening - we made some decisions early on that were good on paper but didn't play well, so we'll be tweaking them as the game grows some more. I'm planning on uploading a new post-jam build containing tweaked controls and *actual sound effects* within a week or two, when I'm not busy with playing other LD26 games!

Maybe we'll even have a logo!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:28am

Ok, that was really hard, but I'm glad I went ahead and installed XNA (I thought I would never say that haha). Good job! Love the music! :)

Xgor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Oh, didn know you joined again awp (Should have done a LD thread for this or something).

As said before it really is halfways there. Tons of stuff is missing, messy control and so on. It's a shame because from what I can see from the last room there could be done a lot of neat stuff with the light engine that's being shown of in the end.

Tifu says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:21am

Jumping on enemies seems more effective than trying to shoot them :P
Enjoyed what was present of this. The last room with the lighting made me really want to see more, would have been really good if you had had time to implement the thematic mechanics of losing upgrades :(

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Chrome marks this as malicious :<

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:33am

This had a lot of polish for a Jam game! Very enjoyable and the last two rooms made me chuckle :)

Maple says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:35am

Was there anything more to the game after the dark room with the ledges that light up when you shoot stuff near them? Cause I couldn't get past there. You had me wishing for a boss with that prior dialogue, lol.

I like the graphics, though I thought some things should have been more understandable. For example the gun randomly not having an explosion on impact -- It could have at least had a different impact animation so that it didn't feel like the graphic was simply glitching out and not showing. Also dead enemies could have looked less alive. I didn't realise I had killed those walky guys for a bit. I thought kicking around dead enemies was a plus, but I thought a smaller distance would have made more sense. Also, in the dark room, I feel like the platforms should have stayed alight for a bit more, or for there to have been torches on the wall that you could light, because I thought that part was a bit tedious. I also thought the sparks coming from your shots could have been smaller / subtler.

I liked the music, but some SFX would really have brought this to life. I would personally regard SFX to be more important to a game than music. Nevertheless, what you did have in regards to audio was pretty good.

I thought the opening screens didn't stay around long enough for me to read/understand them, so I just pushed buttons randomly until something magical happened. Also, I felt like the horizontal movement didn't match the vertical movement, in that it was unexpectedly slow at first. I mean, I got used to it, but it still felt kind of weird that I was jumping really fast, but moving sideways was really slow (or rather, the horizontal acceleration was low).

The concept you had about a metroidvania where you start with everything and gradually lose stuff is really interesting. I can imagine some of the types of re-understanding a solution that would come up. It's a shame you didn't realise that concept, because it would have made your game a lot more interesting. That's about all I can think to criticise. Otherwise, you did a pretty decent job. Well done.

Also, I'm sorry if I'm coming off as arrogant or whatever. I'm criticising with only good intentions in mind. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]