April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pencil (OUYA)

by wallmasterr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unity version:

UPDATE -- after ludum optomised build for web here:(has minimap/radar and runs a lot smoother)
http://lowtek.co.uk/unity_games/Pencil/Pencil2/WebPlayer.html

OUYA version is just a .APK
Instructions:
Defend the small blob from the big blobs for as long as possible. Drawing lines stops the big blobs, so draw lines and circles round them to stop them. Endless defender.

Controlles:
wasd to move, or arrows, or OUYA left stick
space to jump or OUYA A
left mouse button to rub out or OUYA O

sorry the cameras a bit twitchy

I also made a blender version-
to test out mechanics and encase the whole ouya thing didnt work out. It runs a lot smother but dosent have a high score or menues.

Gameplay video on the OUYA:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPkYB-tOzac&feature=youtu.be


blender version download:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1993209/pencil%20blender.rar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#117Innovation3.78
#331Graphics3.37
#404Humor2.47
#702Theme3.39
#758Overall2.98
#767Mood2.67
#826Fun2.69

Comments

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Pretty cool! I like the idea, but the controls and camera made it difficult. Still really unique and new!

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

thanks and Ye the camera is bad.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Tricky game! I really like idea though, the concept is very cool.

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Awesome game, simple mechanic but tricky to master.
Good job =D

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Nice idea, the twitchy camera made it a bit difficult though.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Cool game mechanics, got a little frantic as it goes on.

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Neat idea! Two things I wish for: that the line would also stop my own blob, and that I had a small overhead radar of all the blobs in relation to mine, since it's easy to lose track of my own blob.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Very cool and innovative idea. A little tricky to play.

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

@ronsho, ye i did have the own blob collisions in the blender version but it made the game relay hard, was going to include it as a difficulty setting, and hmm, a radar could work . i was thinking just tighten up the controls and have a tolerable camera from the top view. thanks for the comments, I'l get a coder to help me polish this up and hopefully get it out on OUYA officially soon. Also gona optimize the line code, drawing a plane with a collision box every frame probably isn't the bets way to do it.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

I can see we both have the paper style. :D

It took me a while to figure out the blob at the start was mine but once I got that it was pretty fun. I can see this being awesome with a bit of work (as people have said, camera & not being able to see the blobs until they're really close). Great concept, think there's a lot to be mined in it.

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

the controls really made it difficult ^^'

but is a neat and original idea! plus have a BGE version! =D

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

Very fun to play.

I was kind of wishing I could see a replay to find out what I was doing wrong sometimes.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

This was wicked cool. Controls were a bit tricky though.

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

I like the idea and it looks cool, but I just couldn't figure out how to do very good. Never understand why I would use the eraser to rub anything out. Sometimes it seemed my pencil lines weren't stopping the blobs. It was fun even though I wasn't doing well.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21am

The view can be a bit spazzy, but the concept is great and the models look phenomenal. The best game with a pencil protagonist I've played to date.

Skoggy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice idea, it was pretty hard though.

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Had fun playing this game, a little bit difficult to see where the bigger blob is coming, maybe an indication before the enemy coming for the blob, overall i enjoyed the game!:D
nice sound track btw, i loved it !

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Had fun playing this game, a little bit difficult to see where the bigger blob is coming, maybe an indication before the enemy coming for the blob, overall i enjoyed the game!:D

Monkokio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I think the concept and the visuals are really cool, but the implementation makes it too difficult.
The big blobs spawn very close without much warning or indication of direction. I'll find myself trying to defend against one blob, without being quite sure if I was successful, and a second blob will have spawned on the opposite side without me realizing it.

I really like the "personal best" line, great idea and clean design.

Destroyer40k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I don't think I've ever played a game combining these mechanics with this camera angle. I think the idea works but the camera and the lack of minimap are the pitfalls. Still it's fun to play for awhile.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:10am

The idea is cool but the controls make the experience not that great.
I would add visual cues on there, so that it would help the the player out e.g. warning upcoming treats, tips, instant challenges

wallmasterr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Ye im thinking of a way to make a radar thats not too intrusive, i like the uncluterd screen at the moment, might have that kinda stuff toglable, along with different control schemes. Il start off with adding a mouse look / right anlog and see how that feels, mabie thatl make it easier to turn the camera and see whats going on.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Ha, that's a fun idea.

Jorjon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:57am

Wow this is incredible... It's a shame it's not polished enough. Super innovative.

wallmasterr says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Ye i plan to polish it up after unis done and get it up on OUYA for official lanch

pknowles says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:27am

cool idea, but is the web version an older build? I can't see any purpose for erasing or jumping. I can't seem to play for more than 5 seconds or so. Maybe the grey blob shouldn't be able to cross lines, keeping it trapped for its own safety till you've dealt with the black blobs and can erase a gate to the next area?

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:33am

Interesting design, but it starts to consume too much of processor's power over time. (Blender version)

Either a camera change or some sort of radar would be very appropriate.

Sebastian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Rather fun to play around with.
I would really like a mode without the blobs so I can just zoom around drawing stuff tbh.
I think I would find it more visually appealing if the blobs were instead different coloured lines being drawn onto the paper as well.

wallmasterr says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I just added an updated version to the description ,its a lot smoother and thers now a minimap
link here:
http://lowtek.co.uk/unity_games/Pencil/Pencil2/WebPlayer.html

Xeke_Death says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:32am

I imagine this is how the Light Cycles in Tron were though of. :P Aside from the camera, it was kinda fun.

May 18, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I played on PC, the update is smoother you're right! There is one thing that is really missing: sound! music! ;) Good job anyway!

dick_claus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:06am

The controls are tricky indeed (web)

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Besides the rather bad camera and the lack of sound, I liked the visual style plus the concept was actually quite interesting. I think you should add an option to control the camera (with the right mouse button/ouya right stick).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]