April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Noughts & Crosses

by jamesca - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the X, you like a nice blank bit of paper, just you the X. Then all these O's keep coming along and getting in your way. Deal with them, you can dissolve them into nothing. Watch our though, if you touch them then will get you, even the dissolving ones.

Arrows will move you, and Shift/Space will start your magic erase square. You can only dissolve one Nought at a time though.

Audio was all done using a Zoom H1 pocket recorder, and Dino Baffetti D/G Melodeon. Minimalist recording with no sequencers or synths:-). Using FlashPunk as a base Framework. Source available, just add in FP from a Git repository.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#236Audio3.24
#264Humor2.72
#476Innovation3.22
#751Graphics2.77
#790Theme3.30
#1025Fun2.44
#1056Overall2.67
#1080Mood2.29
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Love the paper-eque hand drawn graphics!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Neat little game. Original idea and love the ending when you lose. Good work with the music too. A few more instructions might have been useful (like that you can only dissolve one at a time) but other than that, pretty good.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Simple but fun! Good job :)

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Maybe too simple for me.

chrismcr says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Loved the theme tune. Strangely pirate-y :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Like the sound effect for X death. Interesting graphics and graphical approach to playing/erasing. Good job.

vilya says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Reminds me a little bit of Qix!

kyru says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice game, liked the music. Took a bit to figure out exactly how the game worked but was fun when I did.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Simple and quite fun but rather difficult...

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Cool game! I like the mechanics and the music is quite nice :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]