April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Multiplayer

by gre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to touch the other players without being catched.

You will steal points by touching others, be fast and you become very hard to be touched.


* Plateforms: Web, Tablet and Mobile. (WebSocket required, tested on Chrome, Firefox, iPhone, Chrome Mobile on Android 4+)

* Technologies: HTML5, Javascript, WebSocket, server in Playframework/Akka (with Scala)

* Tools used: GVim, SunVox, GIMP

---

My whole weekend was experimenting some WebSocket with Playframework and also some SunVox for the music. I've lost a lot of time in that but learned a lot, I've actually restart the game from scratch and change my game idea a few hours ago.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#267Audio3.18
#459Innovation3.24
#470Humor2.35
#571Theme3.52
#741Fun2.78
#800Overall2.94
#1036Mood2.36
#1036Graphics2.39

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Can I play if I am that weird kind of psycho without social networks account?

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Yes you can,
just share the URL or connect with different devices (computers/mobile/tablet) with a few people, and you can play it :)

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

"Steal the points" is about as minimalist as it gets ;) BTW: It just sits on the home page unless there is one other player connected (no login is needed) - I had to wait a few minutes before someone came... then you just have to bash them to steal there dots.

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Trippy! Well done :)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Haha, the music makes it pretty funny! Nice idea. :)

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

AI moves so hard lol. Is that black dot is points, right? Really enjoyed, but a little bit laggy and hard to know how to play at once.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Good job making a multiplayer game!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Awesome job. Love the audio :)

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Certainly minimalistic! I was able to play with another person who happened to play it simultaneously, and I had fun despite the lag.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Kudos for the multiplayer idea. Well done. I had a problem on the iPhone, but the web worked great. Loved the audio.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:10am

Thanks guys!

Making something multiplayer for a LudumDare was a challenge.

My "game" could definitely have been better, I hadn't enough time to work on the "prediction" and "lag compensation" problems but I will definitely learn it to be more prepared for the next LD and do something multiplayer :)

I would also like to avoid to be alone in the game and provide some bots.

I lost a lot of time playing around and building the "framework" to make the bridge between the client-side and the server-side (in playframework/akka) and also setting up the server infrastructure... But I learned a lot and I think for next time I'll be able to have a framework ready.

My target was completely another game but I restart everything from scratch to make this game in ~3 hours.

Also, I'm quite satisfy that I made it working on an iPad, an iPhone, an Android (tablet / mobile) and a web browser, that's pretty amazing for the future of the web for targetting multi-platform.

See you!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:30am

Requires friends.

Fenmar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

This is great! It took me a while to figure out that the holes are my score and not how often I've been caught. Had a lot of fun trying to be sneaky and stealing points from two other players who where online :)

One feature you could add are computer controlled characters so people can play the game if no other players are online.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Dark Acre Jack, Fenmar :
yes exactly, bots would have been funnier.
I was running out of time to submit the game, but next time definitely I will have bots if it is multiplayer :)

Thanks

MauMaGau says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Big props for experimenting with websockets. The thought crossed my mind when I was coming up with ideas, but I didn't have the guts to go with it.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I had to open two windows as there was no one online. Very interesting idea, I would love to see this evolve into a more solid idea. ++ for using WebSockets!

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I think this would be fun to play with others from the description, but there's nobody here, so I can't really try it out. I opened up another window and played with myself to see how it works. Looks cool, and kudos on the multplayer implementation - very hard to do in 48 hours.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Good idea. I know that AI is a bit hard but would be great to play in single mode.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Forever alone guy...

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Forever alone.

(I only rated the music, because it's the only part of the game I have access to, and because it's frickin awesome.)

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Had fun playing that one with my wife. Although we had no idea how to get points, she somehow won. Maybe she knew and just didn't tell me.

I like that game. It was fun, simple, and fun. The audio was nice and fitting. The graphics were cool, the particle effects too.

I like that. Great work, kudos to you. Also congratulations on doing a multiplayer game.

rezoner says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:14pm

With 10 people it is getting actually fun.

Could be easily improved if the balls had acceleration and collisions instead of instant movement.

Then you can easily tell who should get the point by comparing velocity and direction vectors http://cssdeck.com/labs/i2yncyr8

Psychadelic soundtrack :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]