April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

My Mini Castle

by TijmenTio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare!

Controls:
- Left & right arrow keys
- Spacebar

Summary:
Help Mr Peng defend his Mini Castle while notorious square shaped blobs try to run it over!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Graphics4.53
#18Humor3.96
#28Fun3.90
#33Overall3.99
#62Mood3.80
#87Audio3.64
#405Innovation3.31
#702Theme3.39

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Man, where do I start? The game is cute looking, plays great and is easy to pick up. A bit more balancing for picking up potatoes, but other than that, a very enjoyable experience!

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Picking up the potatoes is hard. But it's so cute; your art style and animation are incredible.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

This is awesome! Great art, fun gameplay and funny as hell. Great, great game. Perfect size and scope for a LD effort. Good work.

Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

Good game! Only a size large.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

The graphics are decent.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

I love the graphics :)

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Graphics are nice indeed. I also liked the humour, overall, really nice entry :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Just so very fun. Very very well done. 5 stars! XD

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Very very good, +1 for the pinguin !

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Absolute adorable game. Easy controls.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Really fun game. I think it was well balanced and the graphics were really nice. :) And it was funny too!

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Awesome game! Looks so adorable, fun to play, overall: Something like a winner!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Delightful! I actually had to search for this after seeing it on the front page of LD earlier. Glad I did! Works great on OSX here.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Thanks for all the kind comments so far! They put a big smile on my face :)

Lythom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Nice entry here ! This is really what you want to see in a LD small but polished game.
Maybe a little more depth in game and/or a closer synergy with the theme would have made it just perfect.
Had fun with this one, thanks for the game !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Wow, awesome game — 5 stars for all. My only issue is that I believe the manual says to click to collect potatoes, which was confusing since I started using my mouse.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Absolutely loved this one - the narrative style from the outside leading you into the game with the instruction manual, simple controls, simple concept and wonderful pixelly graphics. Just give me moar potatoes. :D

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

exactly what pvwradtke said :)

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Great minigame, loved the comments and the look of it.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

simple and efficiency

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

WOW! This is twice in a row that you've blown me away with your style and addictively fun gameplay! Great job all around. The music is wonderful, the sprites are charming, and the gameplay is unique, challenging, and exciting. The dialogue is also a great touch. Little things like the transparency of the cursor when you're 'reloading' and the way the health bar swells and then shakes when the castle takes a hit... nice touches. Great work but PHENOMENAL work for 48 hours. KUDOS ONCE AGAIN!

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

I think you mashed the theme. Fun little game. Sucks to be a penguin. Love the art style.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50am

One of the best i've seen so far! Very fun and polished! Congratulations!

summontherats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

OH MY GOSH ITS ADORABLE

Also, hilarious. Why am I laughing so hard at a cocky penguin?

But yeah, you have to pick up a lot of potatoes to keep that thing going. Eventually I got paranoid enough that I went out after every single volley. And that led to my doom.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Great art. Great animation. Awesome humour.

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

I really enjoyed this game.
It's well polished and the graphical style is adorable - so is the music.

if you continue developing this you might want to think about porting it to mobile - I'm sure it would be great an android/iOS

very well done

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

Amazing. Sending my feelings back to good old school games. Wanna see large exploration adventure games from you.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Such a cute and fun game! Love the art and music and gameplay! Picking up potatoes was dicey, but introduced the necessary challenge. Very well done!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Awesome, Loved it!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Cute game, did the potato cannon manual really tell me to go outside to pick up potatoes? Enjoyed your game, nice work :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Loved the art ! Also, it's as minimalist as good so well done !

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Hey great game ! I would have prefer a special key (down) to go out instead of coming back to the door. Reactivating the key could have make the penguin abort the potatoe collect and running back to the castle :) Top Gfx Fun and Theme

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Bonus points on everything! Music, style, humor - great game!

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I really enjoyed this one. I liked the graphics. Funny too. Good job :)

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

This is great! I loved everything!!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

This was awesome. Graphically, absolutely amazing. All the little things, like shaking etc. just really add to it, and the pixel art itself is beautiful - the penguin particularly looks great. Even the font choice was great.

The text though was the best. Had a smile on my face the whole way through. I particularly enjoyed him saying "LOL". And the "KABOOOM" - Zelda reference?

Anyway, awesome job man. Nice one.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Loved the art, the gameplay is fun, and the music is pretty good. You've got a pretty good package here ;).

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33pm

@Alex Rose I had to make the font myself to get it to look nice on Mac haha

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Not really minimalistic, but still very awesome :D

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Really Nice!

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I love pengüins *____* Now, really... i think it's a very, very good game.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Not being able to control your potato-gathering movement is really, really annoying. Other than that, it was good.

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

I do enjoy a good game with a penguin protagonist. :P

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

I love the cute style. You had a lot of attention to detail (chat ticker, the spud particles). Very nicely done!

Gungnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Fun little game, very polished for 48 hours.

Extra points for the soundtrack :)

dem0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Really cute game!

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Overall pretty great.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Lovely minigame, had fun playing it!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cooooool Game... like the character so much

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:38pm

very nice game. enjoyed playing it :D

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Awesome game! I simply LOVE the graphics and the simplicity of the game! Perhaps some sort of repair feature would be nice. Also: the humor is really good!

One of my favourite entries yet! :)

Bernhard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:04am

Wow this game is really well polished. Everything has some animation and some effect going for it adding to an overall very good experience. Also nice to have an actual achievable ending.
A bit too much meme-heavy on the humor for my taste, but everything else is perfect.

LTyrosine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:42am

Just LOVED this game. Amazing pixel art and nice gameplay zipped on minimalist (duh) setting. Top entry. Amazing job!

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:49am

Really neat game. That penguin is awesome. Really solid gameplay too. Good job!

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:58am

Nice polish. I like the solid chunkiness of the art and the mechanics.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Love this! It's so funny and simply well done!

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Really awesome, must collect ALL the potatoes.

May 3, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I think this is the first likeable character I've met so far on this dare :D Well done!

SonnyBone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:30am

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/04/sonnybones-rad-game-roundup-ld26-edition/

jhrrsn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I really like the soundtrack, and it's nicely put together as a whole. Good job man!

Crynix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:19am

Love the art style. Gameplay is great, a little more balancing would be nice though. Overall, great entry!

Zccc says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:27am

This is amazing!! Very well done :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:04am

very fun although it was pretty hard to play -- a few more potatoes perhaps -- great job!

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:35am

Nice one, loved the graphics :)

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Pure fun

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:22am

Cute artillery game. Very well thought out. If you continue to develop this, the text centering distracted me a little, because the text was moving on the left and the right side as each new letter was appended. Have you considered left justification? As you can imagine, then there would only be motion where letters are being added.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Cute & fun game ;)

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I liked it alot, sadly the collecting of potatoes gets a bit difficult because you can't defend your castle meanwhile (and the collecting lasts too long or you have too little potatoes). Visuals and music are just great. Good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Really fun game with lovely graphics. =)
Pity for lack of scoring system.

lasergans says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Pretty nice game :) Looks good. Potato <3

Nambew says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:29pm

The game is fun to play and finish, it's need a little balancing for potatoes. Great game and good job.

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Great game. I especially like the graphics and the humour. It's great to shoot potatoes and then collect them. It's a little hard, I only managed to survive to Wave 2. Great way of sticking to the theme and using the development tool to the best of your ability.

sfernald says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Great game. Really simple yet clever. Excellent game design.

fermcg says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:39am

Man you're on my top 3! Such a tiny amazing game!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:51am

Really cute game! It's harder than it looks, which is wonderful. With a little upgrade system I can imagine it being the next popular defense-type game!

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:32am

Hehe, the castle with potatoes projectiles is a fun idea.
I love the penguin too.

May 9, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Really enjoyed it. The comments after you make a hit are pretty hilarious.

Jan.M says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Super cute!! I love this game. And penguis are awesome anyway!! Greate stuff.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:13am

Graphics were good, but you can just get stuck in an endless thing with no potatoes and no way to get any more.

ZYXer says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Awesome graphics, great humor. But I'm too clumsy to get over wave 2. :S

SonnyBone says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:02am

AWESOME SCORES, MAN! WHEN YOU'RE SUPER FAMOUS AND RICH, REMEMBER ME! hahaha

Congrats! Seriously!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]