April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Block Breaker

by Tahooey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ever game for Ludum Dare and I am very happy with it.

Language: Java
External Libraries: None
Attempt at Theme: Minimal Graphics and Game Features

You have 100 seconds to blow this map up

With Firework Bombs

Yeah

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#477Humor2.34
#788Audio2.29
#790Theme3.30
#1129Innovation2.23
#1148Fun2.25
#1152Mood2.16
#1197Graphics2.13
#1230Overall2.39

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Pretty funny. Nice job!

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

I found the character hard to control.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Maybe add in the description you can move around with WASD

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Sure, Thanks for the Feed Back!

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Pretty cool, but the movement is a little jerky and clunky. I also got stuck in the top left corner by jumping against the left wall.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Sure, I will fix that

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Now that's what I call a simple game. It's fun, but not for very long... :) Also, there's something funny going on with the collision detection - one can jump into the terrain, sometimes. I do like the art style, though! The audio fits the game pretty well, too.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

It would be cool to have different kinds of fireworks/bombs and explosions! Different timers/colours etc?

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Need more bombs!
Need more sound effects!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25am

Well done, fit's the theme in both controls and in destorying stuff haha.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

The physics are a bit glitchy, and I found that the timer saying seconds actually went down faster than it was supposed to.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Weird choice for color, the blue tiles of foreground are hard to distinct from the bacground one.
The game itself is simple but it works. The collision are a bit glitchy but you need that glitch to let player "climb" and avoid to be stuck.
Would have been more tactical if falling under the screen was death.
Had some buggy bomb that never trigger and stand in place forever.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The Bomb thing is a feature, Don't spam them :) but yeah thanks

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

Cool, you can never go wrong with explosives :). I had some issues with the controls, is it normal that you need to press the key several times to keep the character moving?

Tahooey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

No, it isnt :P

Tahooey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

The Bomb thing is a feature, Don't spam them :) but yeah thanks

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44am

I couldn't figure out what the rules for the character controls were. Music got old fast. Fun little concept though.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44am

It's alright but the character is hard to control and you don't get any other replay value :(

De10ter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47am

Not bad.
Like most others I felt the controls wer pretty rough, and I found that if you just spam bombs while moving right then they don't explode when they get offscreen.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Fun to mess around in! Like the pixels

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Curious. I found a bug and ended up leaving the level.

Baknik says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:00am

Not too much to do, but matches the theme well.

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

the core of this is good because it's really just "have fun, blow stuff up". I think that's quite bold to try to explore the theme with 'minimal gameplay' because it seems like there's not much to it, which can't be good. But, you really managed to make a lot of fun with a very little. Downsides have already been said, I agree with Benjamin about the colours - maybe a desaturated foreground, or background, would make the player more distinct.
Also I somehow didn't realise that bombs need to be touched to go off, at first, and my first instinct was to just ran in a straight line placing hundreds behind me... :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]