April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A thing about nothingness

by Pierrec - Jam Entry

A philosophic tale about nothing, and some other few things.
Made by Pierrec and Sy.
There are 9+1 "endings".

Windows only (Adventure Game Studio), just run LD26.exe after unzip

Music/Sounds from Garage Band and Freesounds.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#10Humor(Jam)4.00
#37Mood(Jam)3.83
#81Theme(Jam)3.84
#93Overall(Jam)3.63
#105Graphics(Jam)3.85
#144Fun(Jam)3.25
#210Audio(Jam)3.09
#344Innovation(Jam)2.74

Comments

Pyrofoux says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

A nice game, maybe like a texttual-philosophical-Grow-like ?
Anyway, I like it. :)

screech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Damn I can't win.. maybe I'm not a cynic

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

A new set of clever/funny dialogs by Pierrec! Hurrah!
The graphics are great too ; and imho, these wash drawings are a better choice than pixel-art to express the message & the atmosphere of this carelessness "quest" (they match well with the harmonica SFX too).

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I really enjoyed this. Your games always put me in such a good mood. I think the guy in the barrel plus the harmonica music that did it for me.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

Well, this feels "heavy". Nice work! Music is a good touch.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Cool game, very minimal great job ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

Love your art.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Awesome idea )) I played it again and again all day long (not really, but I could :))

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Excellent game. I'm not sure if it's possible to win (I gave up after the third attempt) but I loved trying new dialogue paths every time.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

There is a way to "win".
But we made it as hard as possible to get because we're mean. :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Fantastic game! Love the art and the dialog... and it's very fitting for the theme!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26pm

This is great! Funny dialogue and fitting graphics. Really has a style on its own.

Proch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

i lolled so hard when strated moving for the first time XD

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I LOVE the sound of the barrel roll haha. I liked this game pretty much, it totally grabs the Pierrec essence that I like so much :) A great approach to the theme too!

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Perfect score from me - got to 5-6 endings and smiled + laughed the whole way through! Very very nice game, and also nice replay value, since you can quickly click through dialogs and don't have to wait for anything.

Truly deserving of Oujevipo :)

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Nice graphics and narativ, but more fun gameplay would be better for me (I hate point and click :)

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Graphics are so awesome ! Are they real painting scanned ?
Dialog and that barell roll sound are so funny. Maybe missed a little "Ouin, ouin, je suis un bébé!" sound. Haha

Ps : There is a little bug when you keep the arrow key pressed, the barell just freeze.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Aw, and here I was thinking me giving up my quest would lead me to the true ending :)

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Ahah, finally won !

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Yep. That's an LD48 entry alright.

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50am

I'm going to keep coming back to this one until I win! Awesome game.

Carvool says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

Man! Trying to win the game sure can get frustrating. Guess I'm just not a very good cynic.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Damn, it seems I've found 10 different "endings", but no one implying my victory. I wonder what I've missed. But it means I enjoyed the game - even if I'm usually not fond of this kind of experience. The harmonica helped a lot :), but the whole lot is well done. Good job !

May 1, 2013 @ 11:39pm

IT WORKS FINALLY. I just had to click direct3D. I loled, great dialogues. Congrats.

Adipson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Félicitations pour ce jeu sur AGS...Nous ne sommes pas beaucoup de français mais le peu que nous sommes ne se sont pas contenté de prendre que le côté 'simple et pixel art ' du terme minimalism ;)

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:19pm

I love the rolling noise :) The drawings are beautiful.

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:47am

Really fun game, you guys know how to boost a game replayability :) I wish I could have study philosophy with games like this one.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Truly great game. Funny, entertaining and even philosophical. 5/5 ;)

glbs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Really nice atmosphere

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Fuck I just spend like 40 minutes trying to come back with nothing and even that wasn't good enough :'( Very good game anyway, it really gives the experience of being a philosopher's pupil.

Sestren says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Dialogue that's actually funny and interesting to read is hard to pull off, and this game does a good job with it. The humor is great, and I like how you keep getting second chances with the test (as opposed to just quitting and restarting), that was a nice touch.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Trading a rock for an apple interested me. If you continue to develop this, when I would tap the right arrow key, the barrel did not roll far and I got confused.

theGiallo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very nice game! I like its humor, the graphics and the narrative. Congrats.

May 20, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Well, that was interesting.
I chose to keep the rock.
Guess I made the wrong choice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]