April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Tower

by mebibyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires a GBA Rom Emulator. A free one for windows is available here: http://www.gameboy-advance-roms.com/gba_emulator.htm

Objective:
Collect the 8 green cubes in order without being crushed by the ceiling.

Controls:
Start - Enter: Start the game.
Left - Left Arrow Key: Move left.
Right - Right Arrow Key: Move right.

Credits:
Glenn Hollingsworth
@Mebibyte

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#573Innovation3.11
#1018Overall2.71
#1060Fun2.39
#1135Graphics2.24
#1250Theme2.59
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice game! ;)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Love this concept! GBA <3

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:34am

Hmm. Interesting. I wouldn't have thought of entering under an emulator. Nice And simple. Good game!

mebibyte says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:01am

Thanks everyone!

May 3, 2013 @ 5:48am

Very unique concept of putting it under an emulator. Props purely for coming up with that! :D

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:20am

Haha, cool idea! :)

GingerMess says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Must be the first GBA emulator entry I've seen, interesting.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:46am

I totally would have played this in my GBA days.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:41am

If I had the time I would totally dig up my old GBA homebrew cart and play this on a physical GBA, but the emulator will have to do for now :)

Great work! Props for different tech

mebibyte says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Thanks Cake&Code! I finally found my old DS Homebrew card, so I'm playing my game on my DS now! Lots of fun :D

xgeovanni says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:17pm

It's impressive given that it's a GBA rom, but maybe you should have sacrificed coolness there to have time in which to make it more fun.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Neat game. I wouldn't even know how to begin programming a Game Boy Advanced game. It ran in my emulator, VBA-M on Ubuntu Linux with no problems.

mebibyte says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:59am

Thanks for your comment xgeovanni! If I had more time to work on this game, I would have definitely polished it up! But, I am proud of what I accomplished in the limited time allowed (and on a platform new to me).

Zim the Fox says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

First of all, thank you for taking your time to comment on my game! <3

Kudos for making a GBA game. I took a quick glance at the source and I had no idea you could write c for the GBA. How do you compile it?

Anyway, cool job!

mebibyte says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:52am

Hey Zim! I included a make file. You need Virtual Boy Advance to run the game. Once you have it installed, you can use make vba to compile and run it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]