April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Speedy Blocks

by CptBubbles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to get as far as possible within the given timelimit!
Rare time potatoes have the ability to slow down the time making it easier for you to avoid obstacles.

Controls :
A/D -- Move sideways
Mouse -- Look around
Space -- Jump
'M' -- Get rid of that annoying music

Sorry about the crappy menu. Ain't nobody got time for that!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#778Humor1.94
#882Fun2.63
#969Audio1.90
#1051Innovation2.38
#1053Theme2.96
#1060Graphics2.35
#1131Mood2.19
#1146Overall2.54
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Sweet! I'm not quite sure if it really needs mouselook, though, as you are always going to be traveling in the same direction.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

It took me a moment to get the hang of it, but once I did it was quite fun. Once you hit a wall though, it can be difficult to figure out how to get past.

Aevek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Fun game, it was somewhat disorienting at first with my keyboard-movement being disconnected from my mouse movement. The only other comment I have is that sometimes by timing my jumps perfectly I was able to jump straight over some of the walls. Not that I'm complaining ;)

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I did take me some time to see the potato. It was just like "did I see a potato or not.... ?" Soothing game for the theme and graphics part

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

The controls are quite sensitive. It's also hard to figure out what's going on when you hit a wall.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

It's a little bit unplayable if the camera gets near the wall, although usually one can continue after fiddling wildly around a bit. Also, finally I got stuck with full solid 2 height wall, apparently because I failed to grab a "pill" or something which was just before that? But when looking past the little problems, it is actually quite fun. Nice work!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14am

I couldn't ever catch the potato

infernet89 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Not a real challenge, i been able to jump over all blocks. But it's an interesting idea, fit the theme too!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Very fun. In the beginning was really chaotic, but after some time is relaxing and addictive. Congratz!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]