April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

They're Multiplying!

by aneeslol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's like a metaphor for how quickly simple projects become complex or something. Or maybe it's just a bunch of horny bunnies. I don't know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#288Graphics3.45
#306Humor2.64
#374Audio3.00
#437Overall3.28
#448Fun3.10
#713Mood2.73
#836Innovation2.76
#1187Theme2.72
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07am

Very interesting, well done

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01am

A nice take on a classic genre!

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:07am

What a good idea, like a sort of inverse Dr. Mario. The first time I played I didn't realize I could rotate the bunnies and I thought the point was to match them up. That was pretty easy but I quickly got overrun and died with a score of 2643. After reading the instructions I still didn't do that much better though: I still got overrun and finished with 4407 points. I guess that's what happens with rabbits.

nathanj439 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:07am

Nice idea that is well executed. I really like the graphics. It is tough not to instinctually match the rabbits due to years of playing all those other puzzle games.

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Love those cute rabbit sprites and the associated squeak sound. The whimsical music fits well too. This is a bit like a "Dr. Wario" game - "Dr. Mario" in reverse. I had to untrain my brain to not match colours :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16am

those pesky rabbits -- like the tetris variation -- great effort!

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:46am

well done, it didnt fit within my browser window, if i scrolled up to see the next set coming up, it would scroll back down when pressing the down arrow. enjoyed it

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

What can I say? You have just hit the jackpot with me, there's no checkbox I didn't tick with your game. Color matching game, twisted (limited) controls, cute looking characters and a good, balanced challenge. For some reason I had no music (maybe a bug?), even though there's switch suggesting there should have been (using Firefox on Linux). Anyway, congratulations, I think I'll keep a bookmark to your game, just in case :).

aneeslol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

AFAIK the music doesn't work on Firefox for whatever silly reason, I probably should have mentioned that in the description. Firefox is probably doing you a favor in that regard anyway >_>

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:27am

Nice idea! Sometimes I get to place three same-coloured pairs in a row, that doesn't seem fair! The instructions said that rabbits would disappear of their own accord but mine didn't seem to. Pity I didn't get to hear any music.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Great game idea and well executed. It's quite counterintuitive that filling up the space is good when you lose once it's full.

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:06am

Ha! An "anti-puzzler" - I'll admit I thought first of Puyo Puyo (aka Kirby's Avalanche and Dr. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine) rather than Dr. Mario. Clever idea. I just wish it was more obvious how to get the bunnies to clear without multiplying.

FrederickK says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:04am

cool game, i think the instructions is wrong: "don't let rabbits of the same color touch, or they'll start multiplying"

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]