April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BEAPE

by Xgor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a rhythm and maze game in one.
Get past all the levels and escape! BEAt escaPE!

Gonna add timelapse and I might be able to port it later.

Note that I have gotten reports of WINE removing the sounds and that kinda destroys a lot of the game. Just keep that in mind.

Made with Game Maker 8.1

My Twitter
https://twitter.com/RealXgor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#282Audio3.16
#501Overall3.22
#531Mood2.91
#538Fun3.00
#560Innovation3.12
#618Humor2.14
#746Graphics2.78
#831Theme3.25

Comments

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Nice game!

It was a nice attempt at making a musical game, but I think it isn't what it could have been in that regard. That's because by design, in your game things only ever happen exactly on the beat and never on an offbeat, that made the sound feel like a march. You could think about adding elements that are half on one square and half on the other, or just soundloops that are turned on and off by walking over special tiles (that for example,temporarily open doors while that sound is playing).

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

Ohhh, that hidden road level... great concept, great execution! I really loved your special blocks (especially the speed-altering ones) and level design, you have quite a lot of content but it was enjoyable to play until the end.

I guess my main critique is that the game is really missing some music to match the gameplay, I ended up beatboxing in my head to better coordinate my movements. With music, it would probably have been a 5-star fun rating for me. Otherwise, still a really great game!

I'm running it using Wine on Arch Linux by the way, which works fine.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Oh, JaJ says there is sound? My bad, will try to visit this again under windows

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Level design and difficulty curve were good, it started out quite easy but then got difficult. New blocks and gameplay elements are introduced at good intervals. The light puzzle elements are good.
The music could be better with off-beat variation.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

I really like the idea of using rhythm to move the player. The fact that the game uses the same regular beat timing from start to finish makes it too easy and predictable, thus not always interesting. It also desperately needs a bouncy music track !

Still, I really liked the concept and there's a definite potential. It just needs to be exploited properly :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

Well done! ;)

attagcatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

Nice take on rhythm games, although I felt it was less about rhythm than just good timing.

SteFilms says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

I love the music idea!

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

Great Music, real nice beat to it. Only complaint would be the guide block put me off many times, other than that great job!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

I enjoyed playing it but expected elements that would require the player to have a feeling for rhythm. Unfortunately everything in the game that is indicated through rhythm is identically shown through space. If the movement rhythm wasn't an equidistant ticking one would need to anticipate the rhythm to be successful I guess.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

The level design in the later levels is sooooo innovative. Really awesome job!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Really Enjoyed the acoustics! At first the beat was very quiet relative to the in game sound effects, but the kick block the player picks up around level 5 fixed that problem

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Overall I think it's very nice and well polished game, and very simple to get it going!
The earlier levels are a bit dull but it gets more exciting further in.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Cool game, with very relaxing sounds and colors.
And there are a lot of levels, with well balanced difficulty, that's a good point ;)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

One of the more polished games I've seen so far, good job.

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

It was good fun, but the music was a little to static

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Pretty good, but that green block confused me many times, plus the colours vere a bit too dim for me :)

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

nice
I appreciate the respect of the theme in the game play
The sound are great too

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

You should've presented the different mechanics a bit earlier in the game. The first levels grew boring pretty fast, but as soon as you started to add different mechanics it became fun again.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I tried it with Wine (Linux) but there is no sound, unfortunately.

nicso says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

a really great concept, but the level design doesn't exploit it at all :( especially on the first level.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice rhythm game, fun to play.

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Great job! Potato level was awesome! Also Robot level! :)

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

The core mechanics are interesting, but the audio design fails to deliver. You should've taken more time to position the coins so that collecting them delivers a satisfying music.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Very entertaining !

Are says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

great game! but I have to agree with JaJ. rhythm is too even :P

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Good to see another unique take on the rhythm genre during this LD48 just like mine. Props for the music! Simple but fun.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Very relaxing game. The mechanics are a little too simple tough.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Was really fun! I can see people getting addicted to this

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Reminded me of a snake. Could use some extra features but loved the audio. Good job!

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I kinda realized that certain parts in the rhythm can only go in certain part of the grid a biit too late (Like 2/3rds into the level making). I guess I could use a red block just after a green to make it end on offbeat but for some reason I thought it was a bad idea while it is a pretty neat one.

Also yeah I guess it does start of too slow, I know how to make it easy to learn buut I guess I overdid it this time :P

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I really like the underlying concept. I think what it needs is more musicalness. I never felt like the solutions to puzzles involved doing stuff in a way that sounded nice. Also, if you could find a way to make it hold the rhythm as it changes levels that would be really nice. I know that's kind of insane to ask of GM, but it's something I was thinking during play.

Solid entry!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Very enjoyable and original. The seeds of a great idea.

Kiwiboi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Interesting game you got there! :) I like the idea and the theme is well represented!

For some critique I can say that I found the player and direction hard to distinguish, might be 'cause I'm somewhat colorblind, but still it made me not being able to relax. And to that point, the music wasn't as calming and helpful as it could've been, as people have said your sense of rythm didn't exactly come into play I feel.
Anyway great job and concept, keep it up! :D

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Good idea. Maybe with a bit more time this game could be a gem. Good job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:02am

Cool game. Congratz!

TehSkull says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The game is SO HARD. And sooooooooo long. I like reviewing LD games, but I don't want to spend half an hour. Props on doing this in 48 hours. Needs more music though.

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:32am

Fun and eerie... like footsteps more than beats.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]