April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Ammo

by T800 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
SPACE to replenish ammunition
MOUSE aiming.
LMB shooting

This game is about defending your homeland...
Imagine being a farmer, in a calm Maxico... when suddenly a crazy horde of heavy armed Vikings decide on pillaging your farm.... what do you do?!
Yes that's it! Build a tower, and defend your land from there.
Watch out for those Vikings with axes, and them helicopters shooting rockets at your tower.
Also don't forget to replenish your minimal ammo supply, or you will die very fast!
Try to stay alive for as long as possible.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#95Humor3.45
#669Graphics2.89
#747Fun2.77
#788Audio2.29
#862Mood2.58
#1069Overall2.66
#1080Innovation2.31
#1286Theme2.44

Comments

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I laughed ! Nice entry :D

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This game is slanderous against vikings!

(Uhm, using sounds from the internets is technically against the rules.)

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Liked the game a lot. Pretty well balanced between having to take some damage to conserve ammo. Nicely done.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Under the bright potato sun.

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I can't believe that somebody had beaten the highscore! Billkney 119 points!!

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice little defense game. :) Dat potato sun.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I gotta say, those dialogue noises were quite humorous.

magnpeas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Looks good and it's fun to play

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice game, love the graphic! :)

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Cool art and fun sounds! Great entry. But man it's hard.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice little game. I like the graphics. I also like the sound, but since you can't use 3rd party sound on the 48h compo I rated as if no sound.

QXD-me says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Pretty funny, although as jolle said you aren't allowed to use sounds (or any content) from the internet. You might want to take a look at the rules for next time.

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Interesting idea, but it didn't feel very balanced to me. I think it would've helped to have a specific 'low on ammo' click noise to remind you that you're running. Got potential though!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Amusing. However, as a Mexican Viking I can't help but to feel a little uncomfortable at your characterization :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Pretty random background story xD

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30pm

A nice little game. Can be challenging at time when trying to get out of a tight spot. Nice work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I feel that if the difficulty was ramped up a bit as time went on, it'd be a lot more fun. I also feel music could of done wonders, or maybe ways to expand or upgrade your own tower. For what it is though, it's a few minutes of fun, and does well enough on the minimal theme.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

arriba arriba andale andale!! +1 for the potato sun

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Yeahhh! I came 2nd (just below Aesthetic) but I used the name 'dsada' or something because I couldn't be bothered using name xD Fun little game though. Bit boring after a bit! :(v

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I raised an eyebrow at the sound effects, but the potato sun made up for it. All hail our starch-based provider of light!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Oh, that's actually pretty cool! deciding when to send out your ammo dude. That's a neat resource-manamgment system you've got there. I also approve of the sound design.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I like the graphics of the game, especially the sun.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

First time I played this, I didn't realise that you could reload at all, and I found it absolutely hilarious. Like.. stuff just coming and destroying everything because I have minimal ammo; I thought that was the whole point!

Anyway, I played again once I found out how it works. It's really hard! But, yeah, awesome entry. Love the Fish and Chips shop too. Nice one.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Are that vikings raiding in mexico with a helicopter with Silvester rockets and a potato sun? Well if it's nothing else.
Just hammering on Space solves all Ammo problems... and once the vikings block your ammo supply and you don't have any left, you can't do anything anymore...
I also played until I was on the top of the highscores? Is that bad?

jhonpi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Andale arriba!, i like the sound. Good job.

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I liked the graphics as well as the difficulty of the game. Good job!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very funny game, and good idea. I'm not entirely sure those are homemade sounds though?
Apart from that- Great game!

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

This game is hilarious and fun! I like the bright graphics. It really fits the theme too.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19am

Awesome. Way to go!

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Very funny!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:11am

Quite funny and it had enjoyable mechanics on top of that, so I'm not complaining. :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:29am

Solid base for a good game !

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Funny game with a clever use of the theme! Nice, cute graphics . My only complaint is that it didn't feel like the difficulty increased as you played. The ammo guy is awesome! :)

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:43pm

A bit hard but cool to play. Nice!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Funny game, nice graphics

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:47am

had to score you low on audio for the copyright sound -- good game but could never get more ammo because the dude kept getting killed -- nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]