April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

beTween

by Benn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys! This is my Ludum Dare entry, beTween, created with zero external assets, everything is code :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Theme4.32
#44Innovation4.04
#152Overall3.67
#156Fun3.51
#464Graphics3.16
#767Mood2.67
#1054Humor1.37
#1087Audio1.15
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Really simple concept, I thought it was an orbiting model. Fast and simple game mechanics, and the camera changes make it hard and satisfying.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Simple but clever idea, nice execution. I wish there were more levels !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

really nice! my only complaint is having to start from scratch if you mess up, get's pretty frustrating :)

allinlabs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Simple and clean idea, I really love it. But the game's freezing a little bit.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Fits the theme perfectly. simple but with very strong gameplay. Very frustrating too, looping around a second time, but fun!

MrOtton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Fun gameplay, fits the theme and nice graphics! I like it :)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

intresting concept. a little difficult but well designed.
the second level gave me an inspiration for a game to take place on a vinyl :)

dock says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I love this! Really great concept. The levels are a little too long, and it's boring to get trapped on a really big loop, but I love the idea and had a lot of fun playing.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This is really great. Do you have plans on expanding the idea?

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Well done :) I really like this take on the theme.

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

very fun to play.
the graphics brought me memories of the Mame... it feels like playing an old coin-up game from the 80s.
with some basic sounds it would have been a lot better.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Awesome simple yet original and innovative concept. Love the smoothness of the graphics. I only wish there was sound.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

I'm liking this one. Good puzzle game. More polish would have been nice but the foundation is awesome.

Kyle Wanzek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Pretty awesome! I love the concept and it gets pretty crazy when there are spheres everywhere.

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Very well put together. A very simple idea, with a lot of depth behind it.

FREEZX says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Simple game, cool gameplay, challenging and addictive.

Lidfrid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:16am

Simple and cool idea, I ragequitted in the first place, but i came back :)
Good job!!

MaxguN says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:16am

Liked it, fun gameplay, getting hard in the end but really enjoyable.

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice! Good use of minimal mechanics, and meta-use of the theme with everything just being code. Rage-inducing in a (mostly) good way.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Brilliant idea; really fun to play.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Neat idea and mechanic. Good stuff.

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55pm

A novel and interesting mechanic combined with decent level design.

paulmcgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Great simple concept well executed. I can easily see this expanding in lots of ways.

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:52am

THIS is minimalist! Great game you have here, congrats!

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:22pm

nice idea, I think I've never seen something like that before.

I also like how it only uses two buttons - this has some potential on mobile devices (if you add some music)

I liked it, well done

May 3, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Loved the mechanic! I especially liked level 3. Could have done with some audio, but nevertheless, a fantastic game!

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Game controls are smooth, after I got the hang of it. It confused a lot at first.
Core idea is pretty good.
The game is a bit hard but level design is well thought out.
Missed sounds :(

zatyka says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:43am

Very simple, and very fun. I enjoyed this one quite a bit. Excellent use of the theme.

Kimau says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:39am

Really awesome, enjoyed it to bits. Even if the frustration of failure was my constant companion.

belickim says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:06am

Extremely simple, but super playable.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:54am

Super simple. Unique. Wished the camera was pulled away slightly. Missed sound. Will play again. FUN!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Super duper! Reminds me of Orbient but even simpler. A full game with this core mechanic seems like fun to make.

ashdnazg says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:36am

Thanks for the game, it is absolutely wonderful!

Nick Cash says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:15am

Nice concept. Could be a little easier at first. It's nice to see unique concepts, this was really enjoyable. In-game instructs are always welcome. No sounds?!?

May 12, 2013 @ 8:37am

Very nice little concept, I really enjoyed playing it

TheFuntastic says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:54am

My brain struggled quite a bit with the motion being perpendicular to the direction of travel. Maybe it's because I've played too many games based on actual physics where you continue to travel in the direction of motion when you break orbit.

Nicely done otherwise though.

Tinco says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Oh this is an awesome game :) Gets hard pretty quickly, and could use some audio :)

Merkoth says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Nice one, really liked it :)

pighead10 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Simple idea, well polished. I thought there should have been sounds.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Simple but nice :)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Neat concept. Reminds me of staring at spinning records when I was a kid. I got to the fourth or fifth level where you're surrounded by red circles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]