April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic Minimization

by rainblade studios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I used photoshop, cfxr, Unity, and Maya.

As well as the tool Otomata from earslap.com

Will port to windows hopefully. And web. Or something.

(**Ok, just added the windows version, though I can't test it so let me know if it works**)

Had a great time! Good luck to everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#109Fun3.61
#277Theme3.85
#375Overall3.35
#443Graphics3.19
#470Humor2.35
#486Mood2.98
#537Audio2.74
#543Innovation3.13

Comments

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Challenging but fun.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

One of the most uncommon interpretation of the theme, but still a great great one ! Also, the gameplay is very addictive ! Good job here

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Cool game. I especially like how one fragment is still can be controlled after death xD Very consistent and nice visual style. Running numbers add to the mood. And great music.

Elemnir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

It's a fun game. Although it seems that you can get into some inescapable situations due to the randomness of the obstacles.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Very fun game, really enjoyed it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Good idea for the gameplay! The sounds are a bit boring though.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Pretty nice, played several games. :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nails the theme. I like the way your ship turns, and the colour scheme is excellent.

smealum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

really nice ! love the graphics style and I think the game fits the theme very well.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Addicting little game, I love the sense of impact. GUI could do with some work though!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

LOVE the challenge in this! Nice innovation with the shrinking ability. Great use of the theme, and I LOVE the crashing animation with the black ship tumbling down. Good stuff!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

This was a lot of fun (but difficult). Really liked the crash animation! :)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

That was fun! Couldn't beat 31 seconds, but I tried dozens of times :)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Hmm. Your title doesn't really match the game.

ronsho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Nice simple visual design. Didn't really see the need to hit d, was more focused on turning my ship so that is was smaller.

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Wow, nice game! I like the ship animation and your comments while flying - "You really know how to fly" - Yeah you got that right!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

One more try... Love it, but hard, really like how the ship rotates and becomes smaller. Could use a slight delay on 'd' to restart, I kept clearing my score by mistake.

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

cool idea taking the theme as literally as possible. the visual style was really cool too. i really like how the ship spins.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice game! This one's addicting... Great mechanics, well executed. :D

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Controls felt great & ship animation was really smooth looking

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Fun game! Love it!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

Thanks everyone! If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them. Looking into porting to mobile, just for fun.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Really tricky, but lots of fun. Music was really interesting too, I'll be looking into earslap myself.

RedSounding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

Great game. hard but fun!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11am

Nice endless runner with a solid mechanic. Felt the game was a bit hard, maybe the ship is not fast enough?

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Challenging but fun, just add an online leaderboard and it will be tenfold more addictive.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:18am

This is cool, but very hard. Nice graphics; it seemed like you just got screwed by the arrangement eventually and had to die, but it was fun to play. Nice feel, great (and minimalist) art, cool sounds.

CNIAngel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Excellent innovation. I'd love to see this expanded on. Very fun!

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Solid game, the explosion fits in well. I did feel like some of the times I failed it was because the gave me an impassable section. The timer keeps running after you crash, making it difficult to see how long you survived.

And the windows version works fine for me.

vrinek says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I love this game. It is very hard and needs some more work to balance it but I really really hope you continue developing it outside of LD.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very stylish aesthetic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]