April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cyberkinetic

by SirJson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cyberkinetic - A bullet hell game by @sir_json

When you have trouble with the game or feedback feel free to send me a message on Twitter!

--- Linux notes -----

The Linux version is tested with Ubuntu 12.10 x64.
To play the game you should have SDL 1.2 and SDL Mixer 1.2 installed. (+ the common X libraries)
To start the game just run Cyberkinetic.sh!

--- Mac notes -----

The MacOS X version is at the moment untested because I sadly don't have a Mac.

To start the game run Cyberkinetic.sh

-------------------

Controls:
W - Move up
S - Move down
A - Move left
D - Move right
Mouse Left - Fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#607Graphics2.96
#610Fun2.93
#772Audio2.33
#778Overall2.96
#862Mood2.58
#863Humor1.83
#1097Theme2.89
#1200Innovation2.12
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Fredwoood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I like it, but the KI keeps shooting me even if im behind a wall :/

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Pretty polished game, however my cursor started off out of the screen area and I didn't know what to do for a few second.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Love this game! Congrats well done :)

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The movement was really snappy and quick, I finished the game without firing once after the first level as the enemy shots were slow enough I could dodge them

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Score: 13800
This was pretty fun.

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Graphics are pretty polished and sweet, controls are well, the gameplays is simple but works pretty good.
Maybe enemies could have been a more bit difficult, in fact you can shoot all of them without being in range.
By the way, good job.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

The game is pretty good. The levels are well designed and the graphics are very pretty. A couple of things that could have been better:

The shooting should have been automatic. Clicking a lot really fast is a little uncomfortable. This is also a problem because the enemies are shooting really fast, which gives them an unfair advantage.

The shooting sound seems to playing constantly, and the sounds overlap each other in a very noisy way.

That said, the game is overall very good.

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Crashed for me (win 8).

kulhajs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Cool game, but I don't know if it's just because I've 16:10 screen but enemies couldn't see me eve tho I saw them, so it was really easy to kill them and peacefully walk through. Anyway nice game!

kulhajs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

- now that I see the comment above mine, worked fine on mine Windows 8

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice minimal art style. I like the unique look of the ships, and the target graphic is great! It's a nicely paced little shooter.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I'm not able to run: UnhandledExceptionError on Win8

caporaltito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

I can't play, I have a azerty keyboard and can't change the keys. The game looks nice though.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

This guys too slow to catch me! I run for two levels without shooting any bullet :)

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59am

Love the game, also a bit similar to mine so share feelings haha, +1 for using MonoGame !

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Levels were designed well. Passing by enemies was also quite a challenge at the start, which I liked. A problem that I noticed is that my cursor can move off screen to the left and to the bottom a bit further than the actual screen boundary.

Pickehut says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Neat game!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Sadly it doesn't work on my Win XP (32-bit) Laptop. :(

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Really enjoyed playing it, fast-paced, easy to pick up, controls felt intuitive. Nice job!

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Tried again after you uploaded the Mac version. How do I start it? :)

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:48pm

It hanged when I got to the end of lvl1, right when I came to what I guess is the end of that level. :)
Nice to get the good old aim a trying. Nice and simple!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:54am

nice game -- i thought it was funny that my ship could fly faster than the bullets -- good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]