April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Lost Bit

by Dyn - Jam Entry

This is a story about lost Bit inside the big server.
Server is too big and too old so system operator cleans it and will shut it down soon.
Bit should find the way to unlock admins console and leave his home server.

Genre: Adventure
Controls: WASD+Mouse
Action: Space or LMB
Console: ~

What's about theme?
First of all you can find that the game doesn't have HUD and uses minimalistic approach - console.
Second - music. We feel that it bring deep emotions in simple melody.
And last but not least - Story
It's about the little particle of information in the vast space of the data. It's not even a file. Its just one bit.


Action can be:
- Jump. No need to explain
- Dash. Fast forward move
- Link. Lock on a special rotating cube and fly to it.

Task:
1. Find cube with the password
2. Return to the start.
3. Type password in the console.


Inspired by spirit of Portal.

Linux, OSX - untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Mood(Jam)3.72
#89Graphics(Jam)3.93
#129Audio(Jam)3.41
#164Overall(Jam)3.40
#197Humor(Jam)2.45
#199Innovation(Jam)3.21
#307Theme(Jam)3.17
#324Fun(Jam)2.76
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

Unable to test: Pressing 'Enter' does not allow the user to type, and therefore cannot get past that screen.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57am

the mood of the game was cool -- however the feel of the game was just to large scale for me to feel minimal -- great effort -- the graphics were insanely awesome

JonRB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02am

Great game. The music is great, the graphics are great. I like everything about this game.
I was particularly fond of the scrolling text slowly creating the colour codes, too. It's a little thing but I appreciated it.

Infernal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

If you drop from early on, you gain too much speed to land
and you fall through everything to the bottom and die.

very nice atmosphere to the game.

Christian S. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

This looks interesting. However, I can't type DEEPTEST, typing does not work ...

diadorf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50am

I'm playing Web (Unity) version, typing is working, mouse click on input field (Enter button is resting in peace, but it's not so critical.

I was like Mario who died of grief found no princess. The first 5 minutes, I just liked to jump and die. Very cool last breath animation. Through the game you got in that Minimalism thing. Very moody. NJ

Dyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Fixed critical bug with the console

Thanks for your feedback guys!

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

Mood and graphics were really cool, thanks for submitting, keep up the good work!

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

Can't seem to press enter to start typing again if I typed something incorrect.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very cool !

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Difficult to understand. I was rather disoriented at the beginning, and when I reached that code message thingy that gave me a dash, I got stuck. The message said I should find somehing spinning. Well. I tried to, but didn't [s]understand[/s]. It also seemed that my dash ability had disappeared. On top of that, when I was using a console, it stopped responding. And I was flying away slowly, having nothing to do. The last screen: http://puu.sh/2K2hV.jpg Can't rate the game for now.

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55am

Very nice!

Dyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Madball,

You right. Messages seems to tangled.

Dash actually changed to another skill - Link. And you should look around and find spining cube like this one:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/compo2/233892/18632-shot2.png
(at center of the screen).
Lock it on center (it will start rotate faster) and press space or lbm.
Also you used console code at a wrong location. You should use it at start of the level.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Nice atmosphere! :)

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08pm

The link to the Linux version throws a 404 error and some russian (?) text.

Dyn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:14pm

kddekadenz,

Fixed. Thanks :)

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48pm

i only can enter 1 command :( then the console is blocked

brookman32k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

This game reminded me a lot of TRON 2.0 (the ego shooter). It has a really cool visual style and interesting idea. However a few times I had bug, that the console doesn't allow to input anything anymore.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46am

Amazing graphics. Amazing atmosphere. Unfortunately it was really easy to get stuck - I got the dash ability and couldn't figure out how to use it, and the level disappeared around me :( I also fell through the ground very often. It was a little confusing to be able to jump, then suddenly to get dash and not be able to jump anymore.

The concept though is really cool. I wanted to try it some more but I'm not sure if I'll have the time for it.

Really liked the idea of being able to access emails and to see the story through that.

Great work here overall.

Shugor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I found this pretty nice, especially the graphics and audio. However, I kept falling off cliffs so I can't say much about everything else.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:01am

Replayed it. The player sometimes might fall throught the floor when he jumps (but you might have done it intentionally). When you use link, you might collide with something midway, and don't reach the link cube, but get somewhere else. Or, even worse, you can link though a wall and get stuck.
I liked the story, though didn't understand it fully, but I really though there'll be about 3 levels... Very moody game.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Very nice. Simple textures and nice lighting (special shader ?) Messages leading through impressive... sound/visuals interaction for the pseudo-console stuff very nice.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice game! I really like the mood, still it's a little hard to do precide jumps.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]