April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Slice

by billknye - Jam Entry

A Test of Skill

Fight off the enemy space bots in the cavernous world of Slice.

Code by billknye and quinnius. Graphics by quinnius. Music by billknye.

WASD to navigate your way through space, arrow keys to tackle your foes. Earn experience and item upgrades at the end of each level. How far can you make it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Audio(Jam)2.83
#326Overall(Jam)2.97
#330Graphics(Jam)2.97
#352Fun(Jam)2.70
#398Mood(Jam)2.55
#468Innovation(Jam)2.27
#507Theme(Jam)2.39
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

The grid movement took a little getting used to but once that's out of the way it's a cool little shooter. Love the arena.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

Love the graphic! Well done ;)

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

Not that fun to control, feels a bit clunky. The effect on the bullets can make them hard to see. Definitely comprehensive though, great effort.

Verrazano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45am

Very solid game, solid mechanics, although I wish you could go diagonal, but thus is the restrictions of grids. Did I also mention it's hard as nails. Maybe I'm just bad at video games ;) also I fixed the link to dropbox.

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50am

I feel the code and graphics are strong, and moving the player ship was decent. However my biggest issue was the enemy motion and gun fire pattern was too simple. The map I think was too open to be useful for hiding and a bunch of other features seemed to be partially implemented. It is a couple steps away from being a pretty good game.

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

I kept seeing xp values pop up but it wasn't immediately clear what that's used for (the items at the end of the level maybe?)

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Andrew: Yeah the xp is used to level up the items.

We made a design decision not to have diagonal movement to try and keep towards minimalism. Thanks!

shawn42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44am

I really enjoyed playing this. Not too difficult once you get the hang of the movement/shooting dynamic. Very nice work.

gr33d says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Really enjoyed this game--nice work!

BrothersT says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Nice. The shooting wasn't easy to use at first because (for instance) if you shoot upwards while moving left the bullet always seems to come late, so you always hit one space left of the mark. The enemies were kind of tedious to kill, since the ai just detected when you were adjacent to them, nothing more, and it took like 1 hits to kill one enemy even on the first level. But overall it was v. polished and I had fun playing!

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:23am

*10 hits

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:42am

You seem like nice people and the game is ok, but I think the big problem is that the time it takes to power up is way too long and then when you do die it appears to be completely wiped out. If farming for xp is the draw of the game then the rewards need to be more enticing or the farming more quick.

Keep at it though. :)

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:14am

Nice game that offers a legitimate challenge. I like the graphics. The move controls seem unresponsive. Also some enemies move off the screen, often I spend ages trying to find and shoot that last enemy. Also the enemies shoot a little too accurately and/or have a little too many HP, making shooting them a matter of repeating a move/shoot/dodge sequence a number of times. This is sometimes tedious.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]