April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tessitron

by radmars - Jam Entry

Tessitron!

A minimal musical rhythm game.

Hit X, C, V, B, N to break the shapes of corresponding color once they're inside your ship's attack ring.

(Note - since this is a performance and timing-critical game, Chrome is recommended. Also, if you see a black screen at the start, the page is probably just still loading.)

Credits:
SPACEMARS - code, art
Adhesion - code, music
emarcotte - code
tokken - 3D, art
brendo - level & game design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Audio(Jam)4.18
#14Fun(Jam)3.97
#16Overall(Jam)4.03
#49Theme(Jam)4.02
#56Mood(Jam)3.73
#73Graphics(Jam)4.03
#85Innovation(Jam)3.57
#291Humor(Jam)2.05

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

I get a black screen on the game.

PixelOaks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

Really nice and atmospheric. I could play this for a long time.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12am

Awesome, great work! Love the camera shifts.

radmars says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

@Super Hamster: the page was probably still loading. Lots of assets!

Tokken18 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Stellar contribution from the Radmars team as usual! The music really is the star of this game, but the well timed sound shapes only help to reinforce the music, creating a very complete experience. Gameplay is smooth and easy to learn but hard to master. The difficulty is all skill based not arbitrary which is the right way to do difficulty in my opinion.

FunByJohn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Wow this game is cool. The low poly graphics, and the feel of just flying around while doing it, keeps it refreshing with new camera angles, and different polygonal shapes. Awesome work. :)

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

You are awesome guys as usual.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Like GuitarHero with spaceships. like the soundscape and that minimalistic controlls...

kidder says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:50am

Cool stuff. I liked the boss mechanic, that's something I haven't seen in music games. The gameplay didn't quite seem to fit super well with the music though.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54am

You had me at "RADMARS". Haha! :) I scored 43810. Super cool idea, and I loved the audio. Good job!

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54am

Really cool! I love the graphics and the sense of motion. And you used shades of color I can pick out despite being colorblind. I'm not sure why the beat gave out after a bit in the music.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:07am

Awesome entry with great music and a really nice skill-based feedback system that kept me trying multiple times despite my ineptness at rhythm games.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:33am

Wow impressive, nice learning curve!

zazery says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:30am

I'm terrible at rhythm games but I enjoyed this one. The camera movements and visuals created a nice mood.

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:56am

Wow! That game is amazing. Very fun, great sounds and music, simple. Awesome all around

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:35am

Cool idea. I panicked like crazy when those 5 colors came out on a skewer and I realized I only had 4 fingers!

BahamutZaero says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:36am

Please tell me you will be releasing this for iPad as a real product! I want to play this on the go!!

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:37am

120795. Very well done game, nice work guys!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Awesome game. Very well done and polished. Great work. Congratz!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice Game :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:02am

Pretty cool rhythm game. I liked the pieces that were tied together and thus were trickier to destroy.

Good job!

docix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:34am

This is amazing! Definitely one of the most fun games this time around. Awesome work!

DkCub23 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:54am

Whoa, this is very good. I'd say the game is better than the actual concept. Which I think is a good thing. I kind of means you created the game very well.

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:00am

Very very cool. Nice camera control with the music and effects.

ceMelusine says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:22am

Great audio design!

bvanschooten says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Great game! On FF I only got black on dark grey, so I played it in Chrome. A pity I have to restart at the beginning every time.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Love the simplicity and fantastic work on the art and music! Fun and very difficult game!

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice concept. Maybe not hard enough, but fun anyway :)

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:15am

Was pretty nice, I'm not that great a timing games but I really enjoyed the simplicity and visual style, good job.

Alphonsus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:55am

Really awesome I had fun playing with this. Love the graphics and the music. Great work!

ahm99 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:49am

Score: 29925. Awesome game. I liked the graphics. Interesting game. Music was good. Good job :)

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:11am

Well done, music is really great.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:38pm

105540. I had trouble to remember which color was associated with which letter, as there's no "column" like in traditional rythm games, so I mashed buttons sometimes. But you created an excellent atmosphere with great screenplay and good dynamic sound effects. I felt a little bt like in Rez for some reason. I enjoyed my play very much and I'll probably replay it. :)

Tom 7 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very good! I'm impressed with the smoothness of the game given that it's in the browser. Love the music, though on my first playthrough it stopped abruptly after a minute or so. The best part was how it'd repeat motifs after I succeeded at them. I didn't beat the boss yet, though I did survive him.

Fervir says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I love the entire concept of this game.
The sounds are what make the game come alive.
This is easily one of my favorite entries.

Saturnyn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Great work ! A really well polished game.

ovenchips says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Why did God make me colorblind?!?!

JustinMullin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:19pm

This is so very very cool. It ended up feeling more Typing of the Dead than Guitar Hero to me, since there's no requirement of precise timing like in a rhythm game. Super fun, and a nice length and difficulty. Nicely done!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice aesthetic but I don't like the mechanism (it's a kind of quizz...)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:57am

really great game -- like the guitar hero with a boss at the end -- awesome

Xanjos says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Apart from the long loading time, this is a really fun game with a learning curve that's just about perfect.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:49am

Very ambient! Super great, I would play this over and over again! This was fun, good job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Nice. Wish you guys could have done a tighter audio sync, but.....browser audio.....yeah. Good stuff though. Really enjoyed your postmortem as well *thumbsup*

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]