April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CIRCLE SQUARE TRIANGLE

by tinytouchtales - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play the fastest Single-Player ROCK PAPER SCISSOR ever!

Mouse to control the black Player, kill cyan, get killed by magenta, ignore yellow!
The Website has anonymous Global Highscores to compare you Score.

My Goal was to minimize an existing "minimal Game-Design". So i made a Single-Player Rock Paper Scissor - enjoy!

Don't forget to Vote!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#15Fun4.02
#30Theme4.30
#49Overall3.92
#156Innovation3.68
#196Audio3.31
#219Graphics3.62
#240Mood3.30
#519Humor2.26

Comments

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48am

Smooth as ass. Took me a while to figure out what to do but still smooth smooth smooth :)

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Smooth indeed! I really like this. Found you on the Stencyl forums, top stuff!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Thanks!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Best direct take on rock paper scissors in a game, I've seen. Although it does get testing later on, it has some really good feedback.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

All around good entry. The ad for the other game was a nice touch, too.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Really nice gameplay!

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

I really liked this one - very smooth, good minimalistic concept, and very addictive. Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Yeah sorry everybody for the advertisement, but i feel like my other minimalistic game need some attention! Give it a shot if you have an iDevice!

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

nice avoider with a color twist. I like the particles ;)

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Simple graphics and killer gameplay! The objective is kinda hard to learn at first, but after that, it's a breeze. Also I could do without the repetitive music, but that's just me :/

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Simple concept + excellent execution = fun game
Great work!

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Wow that is slick and clean with a brilliant simple design. I LIKE IT!

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Good job man, but it gets very hard very quickly.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice idea, and extremely polished.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Nice one - very clean visuals, and smooth interaction. Much tougher than it sounds too 8|

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

This game feels really punchy :D

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Very nice, cool concept

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I like it, well done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

<3 everyone!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Ah, loved this! Great presentation, great game idea! Loads of depth here, plenty of mileage to get good at it and reach for high scores

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

High score!

Fun game. Only complaint I have is that at the start of the new level, objects keep spawning while you are vulnerable - not bumping into a magenta object is as much a matter of luck as it is of skill at the start of a level.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Oh man, this is very original!

Very smooth and simple gameplay. Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

@VDZ Yes the spawning phase is definitely a thing to improve!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very polished, nice idea, fits the theme perfectly. Fun game overall !

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

It is very easy to get into a flow with this game. Unfortunately it feels like some of the later levels are a matter of luck whether the wrong piece will spawn on top of you. Over all this is fantastic.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Oh this is addictive, very nice!

Patacorow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Very clever!

jukimv1986 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Great idea, perfect execution. Great work!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Circle-Square-Triangle, linear but minimal and fun ;)
The game feels polished and has a repetitive soundtrack that fits to the gameplay of the game. Good work ^^

PoV says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Wow. I thought it was an anti-matching game at first, but this is cool too. Plus it has more options if it's all based on the color determining what things do. Well done.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Really fun game. Great feedback and very enjoyable experience overall. Great job.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice realization. Simple but effective. Good topic interpretation.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:18pm

This would be a great touch-devices game!
I only got to round 16, but I enjoyed it a lot. It speeds up very nicely.

Nice one! Thanks!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Wow this really fits the theme. Very nice take on rock paper scissor, indeed!
It actually took me quite some time to get faster on it. I kept screwing up at the beginning, for some reason :)
Flawless execution of a well thought design.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Thanks to all for the kind words! I actually have the build running on my iPhone already, with some smaller adjustments it could work out as a Mobile Game! Let's see!

Milktoast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Addicting!

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Wow, this is a great take on RPS. I was stupidly just trying to keep the cycle in my heart. Took me a few turns to notice the color cues. Great entry.

May 21, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Hey thanks everyone for playing and voting, game tied on #49 with a bunch of other cool games!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]