April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fisherdude

by nathanj439 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I tried to make a relaxing fishing game while learning SFML2. See if you can beat my score of 11340.

The game will build on Linux if SFML2 is installed. It may build on OS X as well but that is untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#144Mood3.50
#204Audio3.30
#389Humor2.50
#634Overall3.10
#713Innovation2.93
#747Fun2.77
#928Graphics2.57
#1181Theme2.73

Comments

kingtharg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

I enjoyed it. Somehow calm and frantic at the same time.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

SUICIDAL FISH!!!!!

I didn't quite grasp the viable strategy my first time through, but now that I get it that's pretty neat. I can imagine somebody going all Starcraft on it and working out the most efficient "catch order" and then nobody ever inviting them to a party ever again.

To make that last statement less offensive, nobody ever invites me to parties either.

Uh, the point is really good job!

P.S. I like the song. It's my kind of music.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40am

It was decent, but next steps would be to let you move the hook and choose where to cast.

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Relaxing, the audio goes great with the game. I didn't feel like I was the fisherman, but rather a cosmic force assisting. I don't think that's good or bad, just how it felt to me. Little touches really add to the experience like the sun moving, and the fisherdude's expressions. With the sun I almost feel like the timer isn't needed, just let the player know you can only fish until the sun sets

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17am

I first thought it would be relaxing... I was so wrong... This game made me nervous as hell and i surprised myself talking to these fishes "no no, don't ! noooo, you ruined it !".

Awesome game is awesome :)

Just a tiny suggestion (but it's really a matter of taste), make the fish hanging to the hook count once the timer is done.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

very calming -- very original idea and follow the theme -- great job

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

I didn't understand very well the controls.
I however liked it.

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:58pm

You succeeded with the calm aesthetic. First it felt like the game played itself, but then I got into the gameplay a bit more. Got quite addictive in the end.

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Hah! That's awesome. I don't think I've ever seen a fishing game where you pull the fish around like that. =)

Also: the music totally sold it.

PPLo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:40pm

My score : 7000. It's indeed a nice relaxing game.
Good work also for the music that helps the mood.

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Not relaxing! Stressful! This is really weird, with the fishing in reverse pretty much... I didn't manage to catch a big fish, too many little ones in the way. It's a pretty clever concept, probably needs a little more to it than just sliding 3 kinds of fish around, but I'm not sure what more, but there is definitely some interesting strategy to when you should move up to bigger fish (I think I went too soon, but the sun was setting!).

P.S. there were weird artifacts all around the font!

5170

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Interesting take on a fishing game.
The music works really well.
Good job.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:39am

Genius idea the music is nice and calm an the game is hysterical.

gerritg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:50pm

8150! Got nearly every of those green small fish. Nice entry!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Wow I loved it! :o It's strange but awesome! :D

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Wow, you said you wanted a relaxing game, and this is it. There's a bit of strategy to get a high score, but it doesn't break the mood any. Great job.

May 12, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Relaxing, and very nice little game. Very enjoyable

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]