April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Save Shape Land!

by Saisaith - Jam Entry

You are CPT. Circle heading into battle against the evil hordes called the Squares! The Squares have taken over all of Shape Land, CAN YOU RECLAIM IT!

Arrow keys move the circle
Space bar shoots

Updates coming:

Power ups
Interactive background
Boss Fight

BTW...

I lost an entire day due to my jam team bailing on me... so what was supposed to be a visual novel turned out to be this... Well there's always next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#312Audio(Jam)2.76
#319Humor(Jam)1.95
#345Theme(Jam)3.09
#463Mood(Jam)2.31
#473Overall(Jam)2.59
#482Fun(Jam)2.26
#525Graphics(Jam)2.06
#528Innovation(Jam)1.88

Comments

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48am

I generally prefer shmups where you can move a little faster. It was also a little hard to see the bullets from green squares in the earlier stages of the game.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

could have used a life bar. i was frustrated that i couldn't g o all the way down the screen. good integration of theme

dissonance says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Good job! I would have preferred it to be a bit faster as well.

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34pm

goog game but kinda big

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I dis-approve of it forcing full screen for a tiny square in the middle of my screen. The music was groovy funky as hell, loved that. agree with the rest of the points made.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I found moving to be a little slow and I had no idea how much health I had -- at the start I died in perhaps 3 hits, then at the end I didn't die at all after taking many hits. I love this type of game, but when you can't dodge the shots it gets a little meepish.

I had fun! xD

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Simple game. Fits the theme. A bit more time could have been spent on the graphics. Great job!

triplefox says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I was amazing at how you demonstrated the traumatizing nature of war in this. All of the characters, even the player, were quivering with fear throughout. Great work.

dalbinblue says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Music is excellent, but there were some poor color choices that made the bullets very hard to see. Also, it was very hard to dodge, while at the same time it felt like I could absorb a lot of damage so dodging often wasn't necessary.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:39am

Hehehe, after I died once I was invincible! After I discovered my new-found power I rammed into everything I could head-first!

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:31am

A different shade of blue for the blue squares would have been nice. They were hard to see against the water.
I agree with the other points, too: no life bar, no score, and not being able to move all the way down the screen detracted from the game.

Yoni says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Apart from the bug where if you die once you become invincible that was already mentioned above, for most enemies (the ones that shoot straight) there is just not any incentive to kill them. It's much easier to avoid them. This consists of probably the first 1/3 of the game.

It would be more fun if killed enemies randomly dropped a powerup for your weapon. Then you could also beat the later stages.

Nice background!

May 17, 2013 @ 10:41pm

hem... Usually when I play a game I like to try.. in your game I tried to avoid enemies, to shoot them, to catch them ...and never anything happened! It's not a game for the moment =(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]