April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Somsnosa

by Mase - Jam Entry

CONTROLS - Arrow Keys, Space, Esc, Shift to move faster.

This is for the Jam. Hopefully there aren't any major bugs left... please let me know if I missed anything...

This is a sort of extended doodle with occasional battles and secret magic.

If I had to, like, identify some part of this that expresses the theme of "Minimalism," it'd probably be the plot. Yeah.

Featuring:
-Sweet graphics.
-Fairly decent music.
-Secret Potato.

EDIT (mini post-mortem): Admittedly, it's currently more of a graphics demo than a game. I needed to try to make an "epic JRPG" as a reaction against the theme. I plan to either flesh this out or fold its content into a new project... look forward to it! :O

http://masonlindroth.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#8Graphics(Jam)4.60
#11Mood(Jam)4.15
#40Audio(Jam)3.88
#40Overall(Jam)3.84
#64Humor(Jam)3.24
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#249Innovation(Jam)3.05
#418Theme(Jam)2.81

Comments

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

Oh WOW I love love love the art style. So bizarre and awesome. Some of the scenery reminds me of a cross between Darkseed and FF7. Do you have a Twitter? I'd love to follow your dev stuff cos your art has me super intrigued :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

Wow. The graphics are incredible.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Wow, that was something of an LSD trip! Fantastic graphics and trippy sound. I remember your entry from the last LD and had been hoping you'd be entering this time as well!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I love the art style, I'm such a sucker for surrealism(now why couldn't that have been the theme?). The music is very fitting, and together with the cool creatures I got the same kind of feeling as I got playing Earthbound, awesome! The controls are a little annoying though, especially since a lot of your world is not grid based, whereas the movement is. Looking forward to seeing more work from you!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

mind blowing :)

lambomang says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

That was wonderfully bizarre :)

tony.pe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

This is beautiful.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

The music got a bit annoying after a while and the whole experience seemed a little aimless.

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51am

Awesomestest graphics ever!!!

shinestrength says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

Your Art is damn beautiful. *immediately follows tumblr*

bowlercaptain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58am

Audio was good, though a little annoying as time progressed. Graphics were wonderful, but the game play didn't mesh well with the art - the black and white cave was an eyesore. It wasn't until about 10 minutes in that I realized I was playing an RPG.

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17am

@bowlercaptain Yeah I know the cave ended up being pretty annoying. It's optional, at least. I wanted to include the RPG battles so this wouldn't just be an "art game," but I didn't have enough knowledge to make them meaningful.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34am

Oy, it's Yume Nikki all over again! Not that that's a bad thing...

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

Beautifully drawn. You're really talented!

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30am

Crazy art! just amazing how surreal it is, I really enjoy the battles!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Man, this is soooooo great. The art style is really something special. The audio is perfect. I would like some SFX to go along with the battles, but the music is really perfect for this. The lack of context and story is great because I was able to come up with my own twisted little scenario in my head. Thanks for making this!

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Very nice contemplative game, I couldn't find much to do except find the companion and the juice box and touch the statue's feet, which made me feel healthy for some reason.

Loved the ambience, pretty relaxing :)

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I was a big fan of ASMOSNOS, and your style is getting more and more interesting! I can't wait til next LD to see what you make! Great work!

jackspinoza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57pm

impressive work for three days, well done. the battles felt a little misplaced, however, only because I'd be perfectly happy just strolling about the funny world. Some very cool sprites. great stuff.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:43pm

The art is amazing, fascinating. I want to go everywhere just to see it all.

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:10am

This game is brilliant! I feel like just walking around the vista and exploring is more than enough to merit this as a game. The graphics reminds me of Dr. Seuss multiplied with 10 LSD. Along with the chaotic perspective, a music that strangely puts me at ease.

The power of this game is able to make me experience the ultimate reality without the influence of psilocybin.

sekaru says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Really enjoyed the graphics and mood!

sekaru says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:30pm

The mood is awesome, but the game has no "purpose" or story. There is nothing for us to interpret other than the strange creatures you wander past. It was a good experience over all, and I love the art style!

NiallM says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Oh, this is fantastic. The sound and visuals are incredible :D

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice style, I felt a bit lost though, quite open in the same way early FF games are.

echa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Beautiful

KevinZuhn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:04am

I beat up an adversarial form and "won", though it's a shame since I wanted to find a way to get to that hot air balloon! Ah well, it was a fun trip filled with weird sights and sounds.
I don't think you need battles to make a game like this compelling, exploration and curiosity are rewarding enough. Gathering the characters was fun whether or not they had some kind of utility.

May 6, 2013 @ 3:13pm

What

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:14pm

A quirky and awesome RPG with loads of interesting characters and epic weirdness. Well Done!

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:12am

Ummmmmm....That ending totally ruined it :'(

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:13am

Was pretty abstract and surreal, but a bit of a shame it sucks you in with this deep vibrant art and characters only to suddenly chuck you out and go 'thanks for playing'. Ending was a bit too abrupt and I was kinda expecting more. Good job anyway.

Teejay5 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:10am

woah. cool. crazy awesome art. and the monsters blew my mind.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wonderfully bizarre and distorted with grotesque, inside-out organisms and some ordinary stuff too. Like a slow motion mash up of Spongebob Squarepants, Fantastic Planet, and Mother 3. Awesome!!

acro says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:39am

You made abstract-art Earthbound in 3 days? ;_;
HOW!? I love how the music feels. my mind is blown!

Laurel_McFang says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:54am

Wow definitely a space funeral fan. Anyways, keep doing it. Loved this and will go back and play it soon.

Mase says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:30pm

@ Laurel_McFang
Actually I only saw Space Funeral after I finished this (including the music). I am a fan now though.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:05am

Graphics were nice, and the style made me question my existence. Nice work. The dude was rather funny.

Are you on drugs?

MathiO says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:30am

The creature designs and perspective/surrealist environments are all really just on another level entirely! I felt compelled to explore just to see all there is, and I'm glad I did.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice graphics but bad character integration.

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:24pm

As everyone said - wonderful artwork and mood. The gameplay is maybe a good fit, but didn't hold my attention for too long. I think I would rather watch someone else play through the game just to see all the weirdness.

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:21am

This doesn't make any sense at all. So bizarre... The world is rather unique, and I did feel immersed in it.

tcstyle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Wow. Awesome graphics, sound and overall mood. Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]