April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Linewalker

by jcmoyer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a 1D adventure/puzzle sidescroller. There are switches. You must press them!

Also something about bad guys and not enough content. But who cares, there are *switches*... if only you can find them.



Controls: Left and right to move. Up to enter portals.



For OS/X and Linux, you will need to download Love2D yourself here: https://love2d.org/

Then, run the game from the command line:

$ love Linewalker.love



EDIT: A web player port has been added. Your browser must support HTML5 canvas and WebGL. Please note that this is a highly experimental project; you will have a much smoother gameplay experience if you actually download the game and play it the way it was meant to be played.

Known problems with the web player:
-Time is a little screwy, so you teleport if you hold an arrow key while entering a portal. You also start skipping collisions when the browser can't keep up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#133Humor3.17
#309Mood3.19
#408Theme3.68
#589Fun2.95
#599Innovation3.07
#634Overall3.10
#711Audio2.44
#1028Graphics2.40

Comments

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:04pm

AGDG brofist.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

I'm not sure if it was intentional, but the room with multiple buttons and three doors, only one of the buttons was able to stay down, the others just toggled very fast when standing on them. Interesting game nonetheless though

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Oh I just came over a switch and the game crashed...

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

Nice puzzles, but I've been stuck at the place with 7 switches for like 10 minutes. Some kind of hint would be great, there are just so many possibilities to randomly try.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

After the second door :)

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

I liked the witty dialog. A few too many switches for my tastes but it was done very well. I had fun.

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

Cool. I love the commentary.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

nice, reminds me of antichamber

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Switch palace to strong. Well done, dialogue was great.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

I could not for the life of me figure out the second puzzle in the clock room. Good use of minimal controls though. It reminds me of Killer 7. Only completely different.

That voice is a jerk.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

Nice little puzzles. Was a bit confused about "where to go" toward the end, but since it's 1D, it's "straightforward" to explore, if you will.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

Some clever puzzles. It starts out looking like it's just going to be confusing but then it starts revealing glimpses of a deeper system. So far I've found one of the ends.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

Pretty awesome. I got both endings. Fun stuff. Also sup from AGDG.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice! I got lost though, started to think there was no ending, but still got back randomly and found it.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Pretty cool. Not sure if there was an ending or not, but nothing seemed to happen after pressing the button in the labyrinth other than taking me back to the previous location (unless of course I was supposed to go all the way back, if so shame on me).

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Is hard :(, great job. Very interesting

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

c-c-c-c combo

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

I liked it, noticed some uncapitalized 'I' in text though :) It awas a bit confusing but really smooth and interesting gameplay.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice game, I finished the 3 doors but it seems It's not opening anything after that. Did I missed something ?

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I was talking about the 3 door with the clock above

jcmoyer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Morgawr: I felt that the lower-case 'i' made the remarks seem more snide.

Benjamin: After the three puzzle rooms it opens a portal that you can use to visit earlier parts of the game. There are two possible ways to finish it from there.

Thanks for the comments everyone.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:47pm

The puzzles were just hard enough without being annoying, good job! And humor points for the text. :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:36am

Been playing much Thomas was Alone? :)

It started off straightforward enough, but once you hit that area with the triangle enemies the game becomes much, much more difficult which is good. Also, very well done with the mechanics! You managed to keep it fresh and new without adding new controls for the player!

Kvisle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:18am

Pretty cool game, and really tough puzzles. I got the bad ending, it seems.

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I'm impressed by the game given the 1D constraints. Well done. I, like a couple other people, it seems, was confused by the rapidly toggling switches. The audio when stepping on those pointed more towards it being a bug or a broken button than undoing previously pushed buttons. I think there is a lot of potential to be explored in a 1D sidescroller

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]