April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Inverted

by karlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle platformer. Invert the world to complete the level.

The game is fairly short as my time was cut short due to me starting again from scratch and having to work over the weekend. I'm working on a post-compo version with more levels, increased difficulty and a level editor.

Thanks for looking, any comments or criticism would be really appreciated.

Controls
Use either WASD or the arrow keys to move
Ctrl to invert the screen (Activates after level 9)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Fun3.93
#34Overall3.98
#73Theme4.15
#143Audio3.44
#144Mood3.50
#175Graphics3.73
#205Innovation3.60
#225Humor2.83

Comments

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31am

Very good mechanic, but Maybe was a bit easy :)

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

Really nice job, just too bad there weren't enough levels to explore the inversion more.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

I didn't like the inconsistency of the puzzels. First you tell us that we can walk left to wrap around, then in the next level we can't. Then you tell us that lava flows and we can't walk under it, and in the next level you have to walk under it. Besides that the mechanics and jumping felt very clean.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Nice game, loved the player sprites, but a bit easy

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39am

Great mechanic, loved the aesthetics!

It could be made clearer how the water spans from top to bottom, but that's about it.

Great job! ~

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

Cool ! Another game that fits very well with the theme !
And I like the invert concept, that's very well done.
More difficult levels would have been awesome :)

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

The crouching animation was incredibly cute :D
All in all it's a wonderful little game!

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

A bit easy, but very fun to play!

ocmu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Really enjoyed it; interesting mechanics and nice graphics / sound. Obviously more levels and difficulty would be great.

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great introduction to the mechanics, though some like the wrapping level and flowing lava might be better if made more obvious with graphics when they are/are not in a certain level.
Cute graphics! Rad music!
Would like to see more of this game

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I really enjoyed this one! Lots of fun potential with the main mechanic! Only gripe is that it takes a while before the main mechanic is introduced, but otherwise good job! :)

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I thought this was a pretty fun game. The main mechanic was interesting, and the crouching walk animation and 'you won' messages were funny. Overall, pretty good.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

the best one at this time.
Classic GD but fit very well with the theme
control and game polishing are really good

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Really enjoyed this, would love more levels that explore the wrap-around movement and inversions.

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

This is really cool! I love the core mechanic, as well as the extremely minimalist and pretty graphics!!!

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Very cute and easy (as for me) game! Like it a lot ^_^
5/5 in all of ratings :)

The floor is lava
The floor is water
There is no floor, Neo ;)

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Interesting game! Cool concept and well polished. Only complaint is that the character is hard to see when the world is inverted. I think he should have been inverted too?

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Fun game and good pacing. Would have been nice to see more use of the main mechanics. Well done.

kazukishida says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

The concept is good, execution can do a bit more work, especially on the consistency of the lava and water bits (got a bit confused there D:). The invert was cool, the music reacting to it was cool too, and the pacing of the levels (like how later levels built on the previous ones, albeit with the invert skill) was cool. :D

As with the others, it felt a bit too easy. I think that's because it's too short. :'D But still, great game! :)

karlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Thanks for all the kind comments.

I'm working on an updated version which (should) be out soon. I'll try to make the game a little more difficult, get rid of the inconsistencies between puzzles and try to add more levels.

Argembarger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I love how smooth the controls feel. It's great; my biggest complaint is that it ended too quickly, but what's here feels nicely polished.

In the level called, I think, Lava Flows, it seemed strange to me that the entire area underneath the water/lava line counted as water/lava, when there was no visual indicator for such.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Really enjoyed this, expected a gravity switcher and was pleasantly surprised, neat mechanic, definitely room to explore it. It's quite easy, and you mention you'll try to make it harder in your comment, but hopefully that means harder puzzles, not harder platforming.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I was quite skeptical when looking at the screenshots, but this is awesome. Too bade it was so short :( Anyway, great job.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

This was a very enjoyable game with some cool mechanichs and cute minimalistic graphics. Getting the invert skill a bit earlier would have been better.

m4cgregor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Excellente ! Want more...

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Great. Yes, it was easy, but you ramped up the new mechanics and rule changes nicely and every level had something new to offer. I really enjoyed this as a demo/prototype.

karlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

@JimmyLord
I love old school difficult platformers but I've never found them a good match for PC so I'll definitely be focusing on making more difficult puzzles.

I always find it difficult to judge how difficult my games are (I'd worried a little that some of the puzzles in this might be too difficult) so I'm going to try releasing a few in the next few days to get some feedback. I might play around a little and try to make a level editor although that could take a little longer.

Thanks again for all the comments.

Idovoodoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:22am

Super slick, love it! Well done! :)

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Brilliant, solid mechanic with interesting interactions, tight controls, nice visual and a good autotracker.py music ;) I enjoyed this a lot.

My only criticism is that I would have loved a few extra levels to explore the main mechanic more deeply.

You sir, have been bookmarked!

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Simple and adorable, nice work.

Misfit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Nice and fun game but maybe too easy.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Very nice entry given the limited amount of time, enjoyed playing it through even though I felt like some more care could be brought to the level design - the invert mechanism, while interesting, made it too easy to pass several levels (ie. didn't actually need to be quick, just to revert when things went wrong).

Still getting a pretty good grade from me!

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Good, but far too short. I felt like I just played the tutorial and the game was missing. Other then that, a really solid mechanic that could definitely be further developed.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice deconstruction of platforming game mechanics and level design. Also the invert mechanic worked well and was very satisfying to use! You should try also inverting the player from black to white so he can be seen easier.

saguaro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:20am

I really liked the inversion mechanic.

TammiLion says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Love this game! Love the cuteness and the mechanics but I also really give you props for the level design. Simple but fun and the text adjoining every level was spot on.

TammiLion says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Me again ^^ Made my boyfriend play this game and we found a small bug in the first "Be quick" level. When you fall from the top, if you let yourself fall against the right side of the screen the game crashes. That's it ^^

karlin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:01pm

@TammiLion Thanks for playing. Bug should be fixed now, I'll upload the fix after voting ends.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great idea, nice game. Some difficult levels would have made it perfect though ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]