April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

VierEcken

by YsenGrimm - Jam Entry

This not really a Jam game, I made it in barely more than 12 hours. I didn't even wanted to participate this time due to my finals. But I couldn't resist my urge to create a game.
This was also a really good excuse not to learn ;).

Here it is: VierEcken (German for Squared, or better 4 corners)
I wanted the game to be this hard, to create the feeling of excitement you experience after mastering something challenging.
Also it's really a skill based game, you'll get better after a while :D.

==== Controls =====
A and D

=============================================
I probably will create a Unity version soon, I really need to learn Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Theme(Jam)4.14
#91Innovation(Jam)3.54
#119Fun(Jam)3.32
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#133Audio(Jam)3.40
#211Mood(Jam)3.14
#375Graphics(Jam)2.82
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Sweet! Watched it live on the Twitch, then had a play! I love the difficulty!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Great idea and fun to play. Maybe make it easier at the first level. try to have a timer and random spawn that only spawns one from one side at a time.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Slow it down a bit? I wonder if a larger center piece would make distinguishing colors easier, too.

Otherwise great game!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Wow, that's hard! I love it. Minimalist to the bone and still very engaging.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Man that's a difficult game!

PixelOaks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

It's difficult in an addicting way. It's one of those games that you have your friends play as a challenge.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Great game! Simply, but fun and addictive. A bit hard, though. Nice work.

Hiku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

A very good game but in the beginning it's too hard.

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

That's hard and pretty funny

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Good idea. The difficulty is definelly a signature of the game.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:52am

Fun to play, got a score of 330 on my 15th (or something) try. It was kinda annoying that music restarted every time you died, it destroyed the 'flow' a bit.

Otherwise good job! ~

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice little game somehow similar to Hexagon but with google's colors :D

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:18am

Good Game! Nice concept. Well executed. A little bit difficult but it works well nonetheless :)

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Really hard but the concept is really great. That could be turned into an amazing puzzle game.

JokerDen says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:50am

Nice but need some control improvements because now it very difficult.

goerp says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:18pm

It is pretty difficult. Maybe ease people into it a bit more (after your exams)?
But I like it.

By the way: with Flash it is a good idea to make the game start with a mouseclick, because the game usually doesn't have the focus at the start so doesn't register key events.

FREEZX says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Cool idea, but a bit too difficult because squares can be spawned at the same time from multiple sides.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]