April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Squared

by IndieRetro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for the LD 26, some aspects of it are a tad half-arsed, but its a 'complete' game, I will update this description with download links.

The source code is free to use, credit is not required if used.

Squared's Content:
*Slow Motion
*Multiple power ups
*Music and other sound effects
*A sh@t load of box's

Controls:
Wasd to move.
Space for slow motion.
Escape to quit to menu.
R to restart after death.

Gameplay Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWky0c7xLQc

Thanks to the people at #love irc channel for helping me get the 32bit working last minute, I think it works, I hope it works...:p

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#357Audio3.03
#386Theme3.71
#610Overall3.12
#611Mood2.81
#731Fun2.79
#775Graphics2.74
#961Humor1.67
#1200Innovation2.12

Comments

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Apparently this is "Not a valid Windows 32 Application" so won't run :( ...

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:19pm

I don't think it is anything to do with the game, possibly something to do with your os? No one else that I know of has had this issue:/

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

The game is actually really fun. very minimalistic. Graphics are great. BTW what programming language/tool did you use ? (I ask because you have not included the source code)

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Thanks! I used Lua and the Love2D framework, I was going to post the source code but my laptop died on me 4 hours before the end! I just finished fixing it and shall post the source code soon!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I quite like the music :) The grow-bigger power up is cruel :P

btw you can unzip any .love file as a .zip to get the source code

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Thanks :) and I know, I just felt the need to put a .zip for the people who don't know that :p

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

too hard, less red blocks at the start and i'd catch more than just one pink block. i love the random background, that bug that wraps top and bottom and i'ld love to have more shooting pinks.

highfive for LÖVE :D

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Its not to hard! You just suck to much! >:D Jk, and all you need is love! ;3

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Really like this one, fits well with the theme and I liked the powerup mechanics. Well done!

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Thanks allot! glad you enjoyed it:D

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Can't get the download site to work, sorry =/

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Sorry to hear that:/ it is working for me however, possibly some kind of add block you have running? I dont know:s

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Fits the theme, and pretty hard for my old reflexes :) Controlls could be a bit more precise, but maybe that's just part of the challenge.

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Thanks for the feedback :) the controls are like that because there is a sort of 'friction', one of the power ups is actually to completely remove your friction so you dont ever slow down until the powerup has worn off :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I like this game a lot, but I find it too difficult! I love becoming so frustrated that I play it over and over (15 minutes!)

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Woah that's awesome! Didn't think anyone would spend that much time on it! :D

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

I have commented the same in your youtube video, add life bar for longer gameplay, change colors for each powerup square so you know what are you picking up , add particle effects, explosions to events like ,pick powerup, hit a square with fire or your own square, and the controls should be less smooth.
Nice job ;)

Theboomrazor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

i made it game pad compatible your welcome

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:51pm

The game is nice and challenging. Me reflexes aren't good enough to get a nice score on this, however it was really fun to play. Good entry!

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:59am

Liked it. Believe it or not, I missed the power ups the first three times (colors too similar?) and was frustrated with a zero score. But once I figured that out, I enjoyed it. Good music. Fun!

May 3, 2013 @ 10:39am

Better than I expected. Got a score of 5 and was satisfied with my performance, so I stopped there. :D
The slowmo/upgrade-mechanics work really well, also the fact that you have to collect upgrades to score makes it far more challenging than the usual "dodge"-game. Instead of simply avoiding stuff you have to be more active/progressive as a player, which is a good thing. Imho this is a great example of how much you can achieve with such a minimalistic approach. Well done!

Lafolie says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I do like a challenge. The slow motion mechanic is cool.

May 5, 2013 @ 1:03am

I like the swimmy controls :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:31am

Awwww man, adding inertia to a game like this definitely makes it 10x more hardcore of a game... having to counteract that acceleration to stop yourself is quite the challenge!

Very smart, and very well executed. It was interesting to see I could wrap around the level vertically, sure saved my skin a few times :)

IndieRetro says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:58am

Thanks! Glad so many people are enjoying it! and even happier that the game actually works! haha :p

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Download link for the Linux version did not work for me :(

IndieRetro says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Sorry, there is 'no' linux build, but you can download the 'love' file and also download 'love' from https://love2d.org/ to play it.

Nonameghost says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Interesting! Definently minimalistic, and reminds me of some old flash games like ragdoll dodge and stuff :P

Pisti says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Simple, but nice game - suits the theme well!

May 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

Nice. Brutally hard, but I got used to it pretty quick. High score was 11. I liked the mysterious unlabelled power ups. Good music for sure.

IndieRetro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

Thanks! Damn you beat my first high score! It took me a week to get to 20! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]