April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Clicky Box Bundle

by haloflooder - Jam Entry

WARNING: PROGRAMMING WHILE SLEEP DEPRIVED CAN RENDER HUMOROUS YET USELESS RESULTS. THE SURGEON GENERAL AND 4 OUT OF 5 DENTISTS RECOMMEND YOU SLEEP AT LEAST 1 HOUR(S) EVERY NIGHT.

*edit*
Moved to faster host. Highscore and game should load faster now. The reason why the game won't start from the countdown is because mysql wasn't responding. So I moved to a faster service.

*edit 2*
Yeah, highscores doesn't load, it's an mysql/webserver issue with the current website hosting service.

We used the Theme "Minimalism" on the controls and mechanism. Not that much for art.

This year, HF Studios submits a bundle of two games; entitled "The Clicky Box Bundle". Included in the bundle are Clicky Switchy, and Clicky Sinky.


Clicky Switchy is an arcade-style block matching game, where you must click the mouse button to switch the block receiver around to match the blocks before they hit the receiver. Each receiver block has a "health" bar with a threshhold of 5 misses. If you get 5 on any single one, you lose. There are four powerups:

Poison (Skull) - If you miss this block, you will be "poisoned", and the blocks will become randomly transparent.
Rainbow - The block receiver will stop being racist and accept any colored block for about 5 seconds.
Lightning - The screen will be cleared of flying blocks.
Health - The health bar of it's respective receiver will be restored.


Clicky Sinky is an arcade-style crate sinking game, where you must get the crate as low as you can. Using the mouse clicky button, avoid the jellyfish and other fish who want you to not get the crate deeper, and avoid the puffer fish that will kill you.
(More detailed control: Use the clicky button to change directions and hold to keep on moving that direction)


This game was developed by Haloflooder with GameMaker Studio. 90% of the graphics were done by Hipufiamiumi and generated in MS Paint, all transparencies were rendered in GIMP.

Will be making HTML5 compatible with Mobile phones soon (It still counts as porting :D ) and then PC port.

*easter egg*
While you're playing a game. A certain TYPED word will make something special pop up :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#120Humor(Jam)2.87
#232Innovation(Jam)3.12
#297Theme(Jam)3.20
#311Fun(Jam)2.80
#357Overall(Jam)2.91
#406Graphics(Jam)2.72
#426Audio(Jam)1.90
#468Mood(Jam)2.28

Comments

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

I really loved this. :) With Clicky Switchy I feel it could have benefited from left/right click cycling colors in opposite directions. I'm not sure if the falling colored blocks were entirely random, but they were surprisingly fair. :) Great work!

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

Clicky switchy has an interesting concept, reminds me a DDR-like mechanic. In clicky-sinky the box has a strange behavior, I didn't managed to drag it left or right correctly.

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

That was a lot of fun! The first time it Switchy started dropping multiple blocks on me, I was like :O. But if you can focus right, they turn out to actually be easier. It's a heck of a time to recover though with the screen flashing like that.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23am

Great game. I played this with Daft Punk playing in the background. It was a perfect fit!

At first I also really wanted left/right clicking to cycle in opposite directions, but I think it would take some of the fun/danger out of the clicking too many times.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Cool games/ideas overall, but I felt like Switchy was too easy and Sinky was too hard.

I really liked Switchy at first, but then it didn't seem like it ever got harder so I felt like I could keep playing forever if I wanted to. The powerups didn't feel particularly meaningful since I could hit all of the blocks without them.

Also, most of Switchy was just distraction - the blocks moving horizontally, the blocks falling to the left and right, and the sets of 2 or 3 blocks falling together (those are no harder to match than a single block). In a way I feel like a game full of distractions from the meaningful part of the gameplay is the opposite of minimialism.

As for Sinky, I know you were going for the one button mechanic, but I feel like the gameplay really suffered as a result. It was annoying to have to remember whether my next click would be left or right. Or if I tried to go left but didn't go far enough, I'd have to click twice to go a little further.

But I feel like with a few tweaks both of these could be pretty nice games.

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Thank you all for your feedback! We will likely continue development of the game...after we fully recover from the 72 hours! We're aware of the problems with the scores and game partially not loading, and we're working with our SQL hosting to resolve them (high scores DB is having issues). If you are unable to load the game, just try again later.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Well done! Nice presentation and clever use of the theme. If I had one request, it would be for more audio.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Game A and B in switchy bit annoying can't right click for other direction - yer I know that wouldn't be minimal controls... but I can't click 4 times that fast - or more than 4 for the part B... innovative mechanic but was somehow out of my control and so not much fun.

Lol at easter egg for render stats.

haloflooder says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:34pm

@MaxSzlagor: Actually, I do plan on making a full version so expect cool chiptune music and better retro sfx!

@mrexcessive: Maybe I could make every keys/button 1 control so switching will be faster. Render stats? You mean debug? If so, I'm glad you found it C:

Galvesmash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:30am

I really like it! Great job! A song would be nice... (btw Really funny TF2 + potato!)

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

Clicky Switchy is pretty darn close to Gyro, one of my favorite Android games. The only difference being that Gyro scales up in difficulty. Clicky Switchy stays right where it is, which is too simple.

Clicky Sinky is just boring, to me.

brookman32k says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44am

Nice game(s) over all. Very simple concepts and controls. I like that. It fits the theme well. However the difficulty curve could be steeper and it would be nice to hear some sound. Also the high score board seems to be broken.

haloflooder says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12am

@TehSkull: Really? I should play that game and compare it. Never heard of it before.

@Brookman32k: Yeah, I didn't put much time into difficulty curse because I spent even more time on weird pattern algorithms. And the mysql server is down atm. Planning to switch hosts. AGAIN. if the next one fails, i'm going to host it on my own.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38am

Nice and simple !

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:07am

Cool concepts you've got there. Simple and neat. Well done

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:00am

Both games are interesting - I think Switchy is the better one. Sinky was very difficult to figure out at first, but then it was too easy. I think I could have played it indefinitely. I really liked the combos and sequence moves you had to do sometimes in Clicky, and Game B was a much bigger challenge than Game A. Pretty neat.

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nice games. I really enjoyed clicky switchy although I found the controls of clickly slinky kind of confusing.

Spelchan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Interesting games but the controls were poor.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Switchy was a good concept, needs to be arcade-ified for more fast paced action.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]