April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

grayscale square assassination Quest

by Granor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Space - everything
other key - Muffin

Just gray squares. Have fun!
- Granor

Edit: there are problems playing the game using Firefox. I recommend using Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Humor3.53
#299Theme3.81
#300Fun3.27
#420Audio2.94
#491Overall3.23
#582Innovation3.10
#770Graphics2.75
#880Mood2.56
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

albertnez says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43am

I liked it, but in the level when you have to escape, it has no ending? The elevator was infinite, I just jumped off and it got stuck there.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:58am

Argh. Couldn't get past the level that said "the levels are getting harder". Still, pretty engaging for just greyscale blocks.

rzfmzn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:53am

Liked a lot how the game scales, although there are some levels that seems missplaced =OD
Played a while, really liked it =O)

GameRespect says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Pretty cool game! Extremely simple aesthetic ( in keeping with the theme), and the audio work very well (except for the vomit sound effect imho). The lines between levels are pretty funny, and overall, an awesome entry for this LD :)

May 2, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice one, kind of taking minimalism to the next level. I couldn't get past the level with dozens of lazers though.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nothing seemed to happen in the third level. But I enjoyed the 1 button concept :)

May 2, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice work on the story!

Level 3 got me stuck, I fell into nothing

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Simple, enjoyable, good storyline and a good amount of content. Eventually I fell into an endless void, I'm quite surprised that wasn't spotted during development. ;)

Tipyx says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very fun to play, some glitch & other, but well played ;)

FREEZX says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Absolutely loved every aspect of this game! Thank you! 5/5

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I think there are some bugs (e.g. enemies/obstacles not resetting when you die and restart -in the level after the boss the delay between the lasers got a bit messed up after dying a certain number of times-) but the one button aspect was pretty cool and the level design was really good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]