April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Only Rocketeer

by Monxcleyr Productions - Jam Entry

Over the course of three separate days in the middle of an interstellar voyage, take control of the astronaut Rachel Miller as she manages and maintains the vessel that will take her to a distant planet.

WASD keys to move, E to interact, spacebar to progress through the text. Mouse/left click during the puzzle sequences.


We approached the theme of 'Minimalism' in a sort of roundabout way, hoping to focus on narrative and mechanics. We fell short on a lot of our goals, but we hope you find something worth remembering in there regardless. We will continue working on and updating the game in the near future, so let us know what you think and what we can do better!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#126Mood(Jam)3.43
#228Humor(Jam)2.31
#365Innovation(Jam)2.67
#372Audio(Jam)2.40
#375Graphics(Jam)2.82
#389Overall(Jam)2.83
#423Fun(Jam)2.44
#437Theme(Jam)2.74

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice game! Well done :)

triplefox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27pm

It failed me on a hull breach puzzle when I had everything connected??

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

triplefox: Did you use all available spots in the grid? All connections must be single lines, no color will run parallel next to itself.

tompudding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I liked the narrative, and the puzzle was fun at first. The waiting was a bit tedious though, and a bit more variety in the puzzles would have been cool. Good job overall though!

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

You really need to be able to click and drag in this type of puzzle, especially on the timed levels.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

The puzzles were fun, but the movement and time delays between events were so slow. It could have done with a soundtrack and some more level design (although maybe I just didn't reach that stage), although I liked the art. Felt like you had a lot more that you wanted to do but didn't get done.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40am

couldn't play, it wanted administrator permissions

May 1, 2013 @ 4:01am

It's an .exe, with default UAP settings you'll have to allow it to run.

JigxorAndy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56am

Nice game guys! Interesting mix of puzzles and narrative elements.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:22am

Very amusing puzzles!

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:40am

Unoriginal gameplay, great story. I felt in character, in the sense of "Dammit, do I have to do another one of these checks?"
Intentional or not, it was a unique feeling that I enjoyed. 4 stars of Mood for that.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41am

The puzzles were fun and the plot interesting, but the waiting time between puzzle was a bit annoying. Didn't really get the theme though.

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22am

Pretty fun. I've played games with those exact types of puzzled before, so nothing new there, but you guys put it into a story, which is fun. The are was retro-cool and the writing was funny. More windows.. definitely more windows.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27am

There's a lot of time in this game you spend looking at the same stars go by, and solving the same puzzles. It would be fantastic if this game removed a bit of that and focused on the good parts, like the mood.

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08am

Neat game. Interesting concept, and I liked the narrative. The puzzles miiiight have been a little too smart for me, but that's not a bad thing. As others have mentioned, some other gameplay concepts introduced alongside the puzzles might liven things up if you decide to take this project forward from here.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37am

I had a problem with my laptop as your default resolution was 1600x900 and my laptop has only 1368*768. It was a puzzle of its own to get the screen fit ;) Liked the narratives!

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:30am

The puzzles were mostly enjoyable. Two of them were identical though. Having to wait ages for the AI to tell you to do something before you were actually able to do it was a pain.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Good game, puzzles were fun but AI annoyed me a little bit. Story was a nice addition.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:28pm

It looks soooo nice. I'm a sucker for space games. Unfortunately I'm on a Mac and can't play it :(

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very nice idea with the story... Puzzles scaled up in difficulty a bit, and they failed when ou did twisty curves in the path to make double width connections...
With the addition of more puzzles, more "event driven" ones, this might actually be a good FTL-like game!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:59am

Works perfectly in Linux (with pygame installed). Just do:
$ python 'The Only Rocketeer.pyw'

I love the story here; it really hints at a depth and background that anchors the whole thing, so five stars for mood.

But there are some gameplay annoyances: the non-timed puzzles are too easy and don't really prepare you for the harder ones, which are timed to boot. And there's no way to start working on the next puzzle until the AI tells you to, which means you'll just have to sit around and wait for it to happen. Within the puzzles, it would be nice if you could click and drag, rather than click-click-click; and it could pick up the colour from the tile you're dragging from, rather than having to choose explicitly. The walking through the ship also seems a bit pointless, but maybe that becomes more interesting later on?

I'm not quite sure where the theme comes in.

The engine hum works quite well as a background track, and graphics look great in a semi-retro way.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:28am

netmute: You can run on mac if you have Pytho 2.7 and Pygame. I don't have access to a mac to use cxfreeze on it.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I like the story and the simple graphics. But for a puzzle game I think it's too repetitive and not very challenging. Something seems to be missing.

Mekuri says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:14am

Good game, but too much wait time between events (Or too little to do while waiting). Also on the timed events you really need to be able to drag the mouse, it gets annoying having to click so often :P I like the idea, and would love to see you carry this game further :-)

KHANanaphone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:35am

I closed and reopened the game about 4 times before I figured out how to actually interact with the puzzles. It wasn't very clear.

entrusC says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:33pm

This looks somehow familliar. I think I saw something like that two LDs ago ;) Still nice concept. But I think it's a bit too hard to solve the hull breach puzzle in such short time ...

hissssssssss says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Nice atmosphere and story, but as others have said, being able to drag on the circuit puzzles would be much better.

I found a bug: Clicking the Play button after the credits have rolled once when you fail a puzzle causes the screen to flicker, but nothing else happens.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Good puzzles! Love the conversation. When the timer starts, it is very challenging...

May 8, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Feels a little rushed and incomplete but I still appreciate the ambition which can clearly be seen in the game. :)

Broxxar says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Much like other reviewers, like the narrative and the puzzle solving, dislike the down time between events. Overall a win though, great work.

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I couldn't get it to run. :/

kibertoad says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I was very impressed by a new puzzle you've created, it fit narrative pretty well. Wish there was a way to restart failed timed puzzle, replaying the game all over again due to failing timer is not fun at all.

Maple says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:57am

When I started the game up, it positioned itself up the top left, not taking up my screen, and now showing all of the game within view. I tried to change the resolution within the options, but if there was an "Ok" button or something, it wasn't showing on-screen, so I couldn't click it. I opened the settings ini and changed the resolution that way, and was then able to see what was going on.

The sound effects and graphics were nice, (though I wasn't sure what the boat scene was about), and uh... Well, I didn't really get to experience too much more, because after 3 restarts I still couldn't solve the first puzzle or make sense of it. I'm unfamiliar with such a puzzle, and wasn't sure exactly where each wire trailed off to. Like, the coloured blocks with the diagonal lines, I assumed connected to the block diagonal, but then where 2 wires were trailing off to the right of a block, I wasn't sure where each line was going -- if one of them was going to the right, or both (cause no blocks had 2 wires trailing off to the left to match it). Then, I wasn't sure where the beginning of the whole puzzle started or ended, assuming it was circuitry, so I was pretty stuck and couldn't figure out what to do. I also couldn't figure out a way to check if what I had done was correct or not, or a way of exiting the puzzle.

I think you built a solid foundation, and thus was the reason I was interested enough to try multiple times, but the lacking in portrayal of information to the player broke down the structure your foundation was trying to hold.

It feels weird writing a comment like this, cause I mean, as a seasoned gamer of sorts, I don't really run into the issue of not knowing what to do, but yeah.

So, for constructive criticism, I have this for you:
I think the coloured tabs at the top of the puzzle should have shown what block it was, so that I could see all my options right there and not scattered over the grid.
Each block could have shown more accurately which line/s it was connecting to and from.
The goal of the puzzle could have been clearer, as well as the UI.
Oh and the sound randomly cut out a bit into the puzzle, each time.

It feels bad that my experience was this, because it looks like you had something really nice going on, but I couldn't manage my way around these relatively small obstacles to be able to experience it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]