April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Multiplied Screens

by glbs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- Controls -----------------------------------------

*Press X to Play /// hold X to turn backwards.

*Avoid the white zones /// Be careful about color addition.

*Reach the End.

--- Info ----------------------------------------------

The Game isn't as completed as I wished.

I planned to add a kind of colored leaderboard and a final stage, but i've been out of time.
I'll quickly work on a post-compo entry including the missing parts.

The game is pretty hard in this version(depending on processor...), I hope you'll enjoy it

Thanks for playing!

EDIT: I uploaded a first Post Compo entry, including the sounds I did'nt have the time to create, and with better transitions between the game phases(levels?), and the result is closer to what I had in mind during the Ld. I'll try to fix the collision bug soon.

--- BUG -------------------------------------------------

(A ghost collision does sometimes appear on the very beginning, just try again if you encounter it before I can get the problem right)

--- Tech -----------------------------------------------

Built with the paper.js library
Sounds with Ableton Live

--- NEW HOSTING ----------------------------------------

PLAY THE PROTOTYPE HERE :

www.gaelbourhis.com/games/archived/ms/game/src/post.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#63Theme4.17
#82Innovation3.87
#238Overall3.51
#261Fun3.33
#300Graphics3.42
#363Mood3.13
#550Audio2.71
#1020Humor1.53

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

Great game. I's hard but i'll finish it! Very nicely done.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

Good work.
Yes, its very hard

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Great atmosphere, difficult but not this hard :)

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

This is cool. I like the concept.

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Pretty pretty pretty cool. Great job.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

i feel this is a very nice game, but my machine can't handle it, will test later!

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Veeeeery pretty! Nice mood and mechanics, but really, the visuals are excellent.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

This game looks great, however it would be nice if it could be made more intuitive.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Very cool idea, but the difficulty doesn't increase quickly. I want more challenge !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

This is great. I like how natural the simple movement becomes after a short while.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

You got to reach the colored zones, I'll try to ease it a bit so that one could actually see the different phases of the game.

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

The game is difficult, but elegant visuals stir up curiosity and make "going deeper" to the end really worth the effort.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Really good fun and pretty.

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Pretty cool game, and the visuals are pretty clean. I did experience a random collision once, but it seemed like a one-time thing. Pretty difficult, but good.

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Fun and difficult. I like that.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

This is kind-of hard to figure out, especially with the 30sec "intro".

Still, rotating around that thing is fun!

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09am

The clever ambient sounds create a really particular atmosphere.
The game gives some thrill and it's good.

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Thank you so much for your feedback!

I noticed that the framerate and therefore the difficulty of the game depends on your processor disponibility. If the game seems too slow for you, consider about closing other programs and try again.

I'll try to fix this basic problem for the post compo, so that anyone would have the same difficulty.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Cool concept! It's a fun little game! I got to the Green "level" :)

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51am

Lol, can it be finished? I am too lazy at the moment to try that much, only got to read circle flying out...

And probably best representation of theme Minimalistic. Its just one button, circles and squares :D
Yet it is fun! Could be cool mini game in some larger game. Aka hacking a computer or something.

glbs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Yes you can! I actually barely make it to the green stage also, and I only know it lasts longer because of the dev test I did (with cheat codes), but well, maybe someone.. one day..

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Nice! I love the whole idea of colors mixing to create white behind this game. The random beginning collision glitch was minorly annoying though.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Neat puzzler. Reminds me a little of super hexagon. I wasn't sure how to play at first, but figured it out after a few tries. The mechanic is pretty hard to predict. I found just tapping the x button a lot to keep from moving seemed to get me pretty far.

- Strega

May 3, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Blue layer plus purple circle, i can't go further, the sound and the transitions in post-compo version are really great! The most beautiful game of this LD so far.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Hmmmm.... don't know what to say really ...!

rubapi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Cool idea, very hard...and minimalist!

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Lovely. Graphical style reminded me of Hundreds, in a good way. The audio is super too. I think the compo version is too hard, but I tried the jam version too and it is much more fun. :)

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:39pm

This is really cool and really weird. Kind of alarming at first when things are just coming at you and you aren't really sure what to do.

jhonpi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Great game. Easy to play and requires practice, i like that combination.

PsenFilip says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Wow this entry sure is minimalistic! Quite fun to play, nice mechamic on there.
That was a nice run.

Marnix Suilen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Wow, just wow!!

joekinley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:16pm

What the hell did I just play there? It was a weird experience. But it was simple to play.
Nice take on the theme there, I also liked the simplicity of it.
Good job.

baldwinthree says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:02am

My processor is absolutely terrible. Woo, easy game!
Very interesting concept executed well.

glbs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:21am

Oops yes and the sound must be desynchronised.. What's the trick, I heard I should multiply all the values in the code by the time elapsed?

kyru says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I like the idea a lot, very simply but difficult gameplay.

Husky says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:00am

Simple yet brilliant!
Very interesting idea, one key controlling is pretty cool lol.
Goof job!

Husky says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:00am

Simple yet brilliant!
Very interesting idea, one key controlling is pretty cool lol.
Good job!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:10am

Very cool, I love the colors and the one button play. Great artistic game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Love it! Super challenging...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]