April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

maximumCuriosity

by DST - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm really curious to know if you found the beach, please do tell if you did in a comment ;)

Go to the beach to complete the game, find your way.
Hint: This is difficult, and you may not make it.
Hint: The beach is a very pretty place.
Hint: There is no screenshot of the beach, it is too pretty for pictures.
Hint: When the timer runs out: Game Over.
Hint: One of the pictures do nothing.
Hint: Escape exits if you are too weak make it.
Hint: The audio is low volume, maybe you want to turn up your volume.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#173Mood3.43
#229Graphics3.60
#412Audio2.95
#451Innovation3.25
#611Theme3.48
#812Humor1.89
#967Overall2.78
#1158Fun2.23

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

Very nice visual design.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

This was... weird? Is that the correct word? I don't really know. This left me quite empty-headed. :D

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

That was pretty unique, but not much gameplay. I made it to the beach, although I don't really know how much of it was clicking the right pictures and how much of it was the clock ticking down. It is interesting to not control camera and movement yourself in a first-person game, I haven't seen that one before, but I wish the movement would have made more sense and I could control what happened more. It felt like I was randomly wandering around with no goal.

Thank you for the interesting experience, I thought it was very innovative and aesthetic.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Interesting... Yeah, not a whole lot of game, but very nice visuals.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

VERY Nice visual, pretty and very cool, but I did not understood what I have to do.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

Quite an experience. Found the beach. Could really use some nice ambient music. No control on first person camera was very interesting.

The mood and graphics worked really well, the photos might need work. :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

Well, the tree thing looked pretty. Didn't see it through to the end, after clicking on all the pictures, and some a few times, I didn't want to wait the 12 remaining seconds.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Interesting, having no controls over the camera is very original, i had a good time

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Cool idea, but I felt frustrated when the camera started moving beyond my control.
Respect for having a go at Myst-like though!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13am

Awesome visuals!

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

couldn't figure out what my goal was, when i was watching a cutscene, or why my character behaved the way he did in cutscenes. cool weird atmosphere though. good job

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

Very interesting visuals. I especially liked that tunnel portion.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Made it to the beach area with 11 minutes and something seconds to spare. Graphical style is interesting, and can't say I have quite played anything like it, though I will say it wasn't the most fun experience and the clicking in the music sort of annoyed me a bit later in. Definitely innovative, though.

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

High level of graphic design, minimalistic visuals, nice and smooth. GJ

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

There's a difference between difficult and obtuse. This is the latter.

There's no challenge. It's just that you're forced to stare at walls in a very bizarrely hands-off movement sequence that meanders around aimlessly and rather than giving you control. Why? Because if you were given control, you'd "beat" the game in about ten seconds, so it's purposelessly drawn out by forcing you to wait through movement cutscenes to make it seem longer.

The idea of putting something together with pictures that imply a connection is neat, though it's not used to any particularly inventive degree here, and most of the time I was too far away from pictures to even see what they had on them, so I don't know what sequence made me win the game, but I did get to the beach.

Personally, I absolutely LOVED the part where the hallways appears and you're walking through a colorful wireframe. The whole game should have been based around those gorgeous, colorful wireframes, with puzzles or flatforming or even shooting. I would love to see that, but instead it is just kind of a thing that happens.

Big props for the lovely wireframe graphics and the music was neat, too, but there really isn't anything here that's fun. It's barely even a game.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Mysterious, Myst-like, kind of like back when you were first playing adventure games and you had no idea what was going on, but the whole thing looked cool so you were happy with the fact that things happened when you did stuff to other things.

Very nice wireframe graphics and cool music. Enjoyable experience :)

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Cool game, got to the beach but don't really understood how i won, i think noticed the leaf picture was toggling the particle system and the hard disk was toggling the rotation (i think)

May 3, 2013 @ 7:18pm

At first, I didn't want to download any games, and just play web based stuff... then I saw your game and thought, ah what the hell, let's download this and play... Sol when I started it on Windows Vista 32Bit, it crashed the pc so hard I had to get the system automatically repaired in order to get it to boot again!!!
Thanks for reminding me NOT TO DOWNLOAD ANYTHING HERE !!! :)

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

DST says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00am

Martin, as this whole software does not ever delete or change any files (no savegame or anything else writing to files), your experience sounds more like a coincidence, I've had this tested on multiple systems by now.

That being said, I'm sorry that you had a bad experience, and most LD software IS alpha quality. If you have any additional information (stackstraces / coredumps / what crashed your system) I'm very interested in knowing. You can email those to me at dusted at dusted dot dk.

DST says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:01am

In addition, running untrusted software with administrator privilegdes (which is required to allow the software to hurt your computer) is never ever adviced, and there would be no reason to run this with admin. privs. as it functions correctly without them.

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:09am

I dont really know what I did or why it worked but I made it to the beach. Maybe some coherence among the things you can do would be nice. But then again maybe you didn't want that in the first place :)

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:12am

I wouldn't cal this exactly a game, just randomly clicking on stuff until something happens... but, that said, I would really love for this to envolve into a Myst-like game, with wireframe graphics... Really loved those! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:40am

dude, please compile your game again. windows link is down.

ddionisio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:05am

Yeah, windows link is down.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:12am

Broken link.

DST says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:59am

I am very sorry about the download links being down, it seems my jenkins decided to kill itself, the links are back online now! :(

imagnity says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:38am

Simply beautiful! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Wow, an atmospheric and moody game! The keyboard sounds in the vector world put me in a trance... I saw the gate.

ddionisio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I was caught surprise by not being able to use the mouse, I freaked out the first time. Pretty cool concept, not sure there was more to do than turn pictures on and see the tree light up, which was pretty funky.

Then I read your description, there's a secret! I played again and found the exit! I think I was able to get the hint. That was really neat experience!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:57am

Yay, I won! I wish I could control the viewpiont a little, rather than have a forced perspective. On my 16:10 monitor I got some minor clipping errors: sometimes during a turn, a picture would go through the front clip plane. Fun to play with and Myst-like, as someone mentioned. Thanks for fixing the download link.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I rate this very high. It's experimental en thereby very original.
I didn't expect the game to be like this at all, which was good. The surprise that I didn't control the movement was great.
I found the typing in your music funny and a great idea.

And I made it to the beach.

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice visuals. Not really sure what was going on. Managed to complete it though.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I have win...and I haven't understand. Very strange G... Thing, I have never see this and the weird atmosphere is pretty cool, good job.

May 15, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very WTF game, you may beat me for the WTF award. Very nice graphics and audio. I liked the way i couldn't control the camera. I would have liked to see the pictures from closer so i can see the logic (since they mean someting about the creation of the tree). I made it to the beach and the path to go there was beautiful.

Simon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Pretty weird, I love weird. I made it to the beach but I'm not sure I understood what I was doing :)

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:19am

I did it! Not sure what I did, but I did it! I loved the visuals and mood, but didn't really get what I was doing. Good work, though, enjoyed it!

ryuurei says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Not bad overall. The graphics and music were really nice. Certainly had a creepy feel for a little while, there. I must say that I was really confused and couldn't understand what was happening for a minute or so, which took away from the experience. If the cutscenes weren't so transparent and seemed more significant, this would have had a great feel.
I will still say that this did feel pretty innovative. At the very least, I've never played anything quite like it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]