April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Way of the cuburai

by comrad_gremlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the cuburai, last warrior left from the house of Cubamoto. The shogun has been killed and the assasins are trying to get rid of you.

Live by the code, die by the code!

How to play: Hit your enemies while rapidly moving past them! Don't stop, for being stagnant means being dead.

Good luck warrior.

Controls:
WASD - moving
1/2/3 - make choices / switch weapons
Enter / Z - start game
Enter / ESC - go to main screen after death
ESC - quit (from main screen)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#327Humor2.61
#610Audio2.62
#725Mood2.72
#863Theme3.21
#897Overall2.85
#922Fun2.59
#1017Graphics2.42
#1034Innovation2.41

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice game, well done! I love the mood :)

yellowlemming says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

It would be good if controls were stated within the game. It plays fairly well but it just seems rather basic and doesn't really interest me too much

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

The hitbox of the player's sword and the enemies' spears felt too small and unclear, but the levelups were fun. I like the rising sun background and minimalistic audio too.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great game! Hilarious music! Movement feel is a bit lost, and upgrades not fast enough to my taste. Liked mechanics .)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I didn't understand much what I had to do at first, later it got fun. It's kind of like a samurai brawler.

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Fun gameplay, very minimalist indeed. Great humor.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Loved the samurai death poems!! Brilliant. Really nice little game :).

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Good jobs with the haiku

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

It's quite fun once you get over the fact that those swords are so small!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys!

Duly noted about the hitboxes: I've been trying not to make the game too easy, but I admit that I might have went too far with reducing the hitboxes.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice minimalistic characters.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Cubic Warriors chop
newbies to thin slices
it's fun regardles

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

Very funny entry - I really enjoyed the written quotes at the main menu :)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

@$&% ninjas. Good work. :-)

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I didn't understand much too)

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

It was ok, though I didn't really get the combat system, felt like I was waving my sword and hoping to hit.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Quite nice! note that if you up the max health, the hearts mix with the sun. Giving the sprite a black edge will solve this easily.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:47am

Thanks for the great idea! I'll definetely do this next time :) I'm glad I was able to learn something new.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:29am

Great simple idea but well done.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Had a lot of fun playing this and discovering all the upgrades. I felt like dying was my fault, so good design. My record is 60 kills (for now).
Really fun game!

May 11, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Fun mood and audio.
I found it a bit hard to hit the enemy when I wanted and also to read the text.

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very hard, but very minimal!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]