April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mingineer

by sockfolder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea for this entry is making a new World with a minimal number of simple Elements. You are Minny, a cute engineer in training in this new World. Spawn Elements, figure out what each Element does, and try to make interesting mixtures.

This is a SANDBOX game. There is no primary objective. Just have fun and mess around with the various elements.

Controls:

Use WASD to jump around.

Left Mouse Button to spawn/destroy Elements. Hold to spawn/destroy en masse.

Press Space to change outfits. You spawn a different Element for each of the 8 outfits.

Press P to pause the Element movements to setup the Elements more carefully (or to just draw).

Press Z to zoom out and see the whole world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#476Innovation3.22
#702Humor2.04
#775Graphics2.74
#848Overall2.90
#913Audio2.06
#946Theme3.11
#1101Fun2.32
#1140Mood2.18

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28am

Cool. Someone's been playing Starseed Pilgrim.

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

unluckly, very hard to play with non-qwerty keyboard. Same problem with every WASD only games.

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nifty!

A bit like cellular automata, but it's more like masses of environment-aware agents.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

it sure is different! :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Cute!

geckojsc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Neat, interesting concept, I like sandbox games and cellular automata.
It was fun trying to work out what each element was representing, maybe it would have been cool to see more interactions between blocks (e.g. water eliminating fire, fire engulfing the plants/organic blocks).

There was a little latency in the sound effects, but I got used to it. :)

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Very cool. I really like how some of them do different things when next to each other as opposed to alone. Makes for a whole different dynamic. Very innovative!

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Interesting idea to try and figure out what kind of element it was just from how the block moves. The zoom out is nice too.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Fun little toybox. Runs very stable and the infinite world seems well coded. Sadly no source to check out :-(
Definitely seems inspired by Starseed Pilgrim, if not, quite a fun coincidence :-) Hope you find some way to add gameplay into the sandbox, good luck!

sockfolder says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:07am

Thanks for the positive reviews. I actually hadn't heard of Starseed Pilgrim, but now I certainly want to play it. Of course, I wanted to add a bit more interaction and complex configurations, but limited time and all that. I've been quite busy this week and just got around to uploading the source, so sorry about that. Hopefully I'll soon have a webpage up with the 'solutions' of how each element works, such as how the yellow blocks can be used to make circuits (probably the least clear feature).

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Hmm, interesting. It might be better if you eventually add some objectives. Cool concept and game!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Cute art style ;)

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Interesting experiment. Looks something like the powder game. In that game every element is only 1x1 pixel large. I would prefer it if you could draw in the zoomed-out mode. Maybe the patterns and interactions would be clearer.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:15am

Very unique concept. I'd love to slow the player down just a bit as it all moved too quickly for me. Also, anything with that many instructions is going to be tough since I'm more apt to ignore and dive in. But then I'm lost.

Again, I like the idea, art, and sound. Just would appreciate a bit of a guide/tutorial before dropping me in the huge world. (To be fair, I'm an old fart) :)

Nicely done!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:02pm

As others have said, a really cool implementation of Conway's Game of Life! I've certainly never been a character caught up in the midst of the craziness.

I built up a diagonal staircase to see what might lie beyond the veil, turn out there's just more building areas! I was hoping to maybe run into another Mingineer like myself :)

Fun little sandbox, hope you develop it further!

atraxgames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Discoverying what the elements do it's very cool. Congrats!

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Good job. I will come back to this, inspirational in terms of the depth. If combined with gameplay, as opposed to sandbox-play, could be great. Very amusing sandbox.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:00am

Discovering what the elements do, and playing with them was fun, it just needs some form of goal. I can see it working as a puzzle platformer, where you have a limited number of elements to solve things.

It could do with some way of switching directly to a specific outfit, such as using the number keys. I kept pressing space when I wanted to jump, and having to cycle through them all again!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]