April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Drop

by Tate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second game, my second GUI program, my second LD... not bad. I barely had any real time to work on it... possibly 14 hours total if my math was right. The weekend snuck up on me after I already had other plans lined up. Went with something super minimalistic, but very hard to actually get points for a challenge.

Many different ways I could have expanded upon it, with power-ups, special pickups, and a score based off time & collections. All of which were in my plans, none of which came to fruition.

Couple bugs still roam free. Spawning blocks, triangles, and coins all still have the option to maintain the same space, so coins can be behind triangles, etc... Also the coin and triangle spawning will get off cue from the 25 pixel rows that the squares will hold true with.

No mouse controls, keyboard only.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Rubricet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40am

Nice game! I really like how you've put it together. I noticed that it's all in one jar file, are you drawing all of the objects at runtime or embedding the images? Either way, it makes the deployment really clean.

Tate says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Yes, all the objects are being drawn during the runtime. Thanks for the compliments :)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Cute little game, nicely done!

May 1, 2013 @ 9:54am

Pretty good for only 1/2 the compo time. Hopefully you get a full session next LD.

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:08am

For a second game, it's really cool!

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:01am

Good stuff. I hope you have a chance to polish this game up sometime!

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Interesting game. Very tough unless you hide on top of the blocks.

galman says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice game, a bit too hard in my opinion...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]