April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hot Potato! - A Multiplayer Potato Launcher Combat Game

by LogiQ121 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only need one weapon... Your Potato Launcher.
Cook it up and blast up to 3 of your friends in this multiplayer combat arena. First one to 11 points takes the win, and with that, BRAGGING RIGHTS!

I got my inital inspiration from the old school "Game&Watch" games. I ended up speeding up the game a bit because it wasn't as fun when it was super slow. I still kept all movements at 1 frame each...hows that for minimalism. :P

Please leave a comment below so I can also get to try your game!

Thanks,
Leonard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#413Humor2.45
#717Audio2.43
#797Fun2.72
#1024Innovation2.43
#1028Graphics2.40
#1037Overall2.69
#1105Theme2.88
#1140Mood2.18

Comments

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Tee hee potato guns! I love the shooting animation.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51pm

The controls seemed unresponsive at times... but nice work! Polished.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

nice game, but im not really sure how u get 4 players on one keyboard^^

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Cool idea, I liked that I could fire really hot potatoes, but at the cost of taking longer. The sounds were subtle and effective. I wish the controls were a little more fluid for more twitchy multiplayer craziness. Good work :)

LogiQ121 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

It pretty much a clusterf*** with four players on the same keyboard. If you have gamepads you can map to keys, it would help alleviate that issue. In my post Compo version I will eventually add full gamepad support

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50am

Cool idea. Multiplayer is always fun!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:02am

Great idea. Keys look a little bit unresponsive.

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:16am

Good game, I really liked the sounds.

graytest says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34am

Controls were a bit slow for an action game. Otherwise good game!

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:39am

Major spawn camping problem, especially with the ability to spam fire.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46am

Good to see a multiplayer... Its slightly unresponsive, not sure whether need subtle change to keyboard handling. The "charge meter" doesn't seem to work for player one, works fine for player two. Good job Potato!

Spiridios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:48am

Reminds me of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combat_%28video_game%29 Liked the graphics and sound, not really liking the controls, but I'm not sure how you can avoid that on compo deadlines and still make it four player.

LogiQ121 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Thanks for all your input guys. I have a few ideas on making the controls more responsive and dealing with things such as spawn camping (Random Spawn Points or Spawn Protection), and better control placement.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice work! I suggest you might need more random spawn points. If player two gets killed near its own spawn, it re-spawns there and is vulnerable again.

infernet89 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Potatoes! Really inovative gameplay, too bad the windows was too large and didn't fit my screen!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Cool game. Casual and deep mechanic. Congratz!

DST says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:59am

Very polished! :) Keys are not unresponsive at all, all that is needed is a n-key rollover keyboard (which is any proper keyboard)

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:08am

Cool, simple game. Fun! Just need more friends! :)

ovenchips says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Extra marks for potato-related hi-jinx! Really fun to play - well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]