April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

JEB_001

by Bevilacqua - 48 Hour Compo Entry

JEB_001 is a complex robot in a minimalistic world. Help him on his quest to dissemble himself in an effort to fit in. Collect screw drivers and read his personal diary! Race against the clock to collect screw drivers and don't forget to watch out for those pesty hazards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#238Humor2.80
#730Audio2.41
#1045Mood2.35
#1117Theme2.87
#1122Graphics2.27
#1141Fun2.26
#1248Innovation2.00
#1268Overall2.29

Comments

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

It was alright, not great though, hit detection could do with some improvement

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Good effort.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Good effort, but your hit detection / scrolling camera is really odd, and I'm not really sure what exactly I'm supposed to be doing. The controls only showed for a couple of seconds to me.

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

erm, cant play it on my mac. stats: snow leopard 1.6.8. the jar just wont open

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

gonna try second link

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

nope still cant open it...

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

While I really liked the concept behind it and the graphical design of the diary entries I am undecided about the game itself. Movement was a little too chunky and the collision detection was sometimes a half block off. I feel like the timer should be reset after dying from a hazard. Anyways, good effort :).

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I like but i didnt know what to do

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

Pretty good game. The tutorial screen changed before I was done reading the controls.

Collision detection never quite seemed to be in line with the actual environment. Sometimes it was way off, sometimes it was OK.

I really like the player animations.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

Keep in mind that when you put a lot of text on the screen, we need to have time to read it! I liked the diaries, but I couldn't read some of them because they left. I also had some issues with collision detection. Also, to those playing, once you've collected the screwdrivers and hit the doors, you have to press enter to finish the level.

vinull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

The hitbox is off and I wasn't able to figure out how. I still managed to finish, though most deaths came because of the hitbox issues.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

Could not find the main class: org.nmc.dare.Driver. Program will exit

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47am

Whoops, disregard my previous comment, wrong game

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

I would love to extend the control screen length to help you guys out would that be braking the rules?

Furyhunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

The hit detection and camera are so, so strange. I loved the little diary entries though.

De10ter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

The story was a good idea, but the player collisions were all over the place and the stuttering camera made it really hard to look at :/

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Great idea, bad implementation.

The collision detection is awful and the scrolling needs work, but I liked the idea.

I also kind of figured JEB's speech would get more slurred as the parts came off, but I suppose not.

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Wow, this was actually quite good. The only thing I didn't like was the collision detection which was extremely wonky. I liked the music progression. The graphics were not good, but not bad either. The jerky scrolling was a little bit annoying, but it wasn't so bad.
The story was great, not that it couldn't be improved. I honestly ended up just wanting to finish the levels to get the next part of the story. The ending didn't dissapoint either.

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I think the collision was off on the robot, as I kept dying on level 2 trying to collect the first screwdriver. :(

berkano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Great story and character, and the music was cool. The screwdrivers were a bit hard to pick up sometimes. Good level design! Would be nice to have a bit more variety in the obstacles/hazards. Good job!

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Very neat idea, and level layouts looked good and challenging, but the scrolling mechanic and faulty collision detection ruined it. Either do smooth scrolling, or scroll the robot WITH the screen. Having the screen suddenly jump and now the robot is in lava isn't fun, especially when it's very hard to tell WHEN it's going to jump.

Also, not everyone reads text at the same speed you do. Especially if you wrote the text, you WILL read it faster than anyone else. Either wait for the player to press a key to skip, or if you still want a timeout, put a long timeout on it and also allow the player to skip by pressing a key.

Definitely think you have a fun little game here if those problems are cleared up.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:44pm

The level titles and diary entries were a funny touch. I had trouble picking up the screwdrivers sometimes. Nice ending, I'm happy for the robot!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]