April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinZ

by unpronounceable - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was an attempt to create a minimalist version of the combat in the original Legend of Zelda. Being able to listen to the sound is highly recommended.

The instructions screen is interactive to help you get used to the movement. For input any key but escape works, escape always takes you to the title screen. Use the mouse on the title screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#60Innovation3.97
#381Theme3.72
#509Overall3.21
#610Audio2.62
#830Graphics2.68
#889Mood2.55
#935Fun2.57

Comments

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Really original concept, but way way harder than I expected! Is there any way to know whether it's going to rotate clockwise or counter-clockwise?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

WOW very cool... also very interesting idea :D

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very cool concept. Tricky little puzzle game. A little slow moving for my tastes, but still awesome.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Unique, though allowing the player to adjust the pace might be nice.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Really good idea, it is easy to learn but hard to master

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Interesting and original gameplay. It was a challenge to thing ahead of each pieces moves, but I eventually got the hang of it. My only complain is that I found the first couple levels a bit frustrating due to the slower speeds, and me getting used to the controls. Overall, very nice.

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Great and unique puzzle concept. Just as I was about to complain that it played a little slow, the next level sped up a bit. :)

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Very nice concept and some very nice puzzles. The graphics are minimal, but that is the theme, plus the jumping squares effect ids cool.
The nice thing about this is it adds tension to a puzzle game and does it very well.

Lafolie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Such an odd mechanic, yet it works well. I do feel that it is far too slow to begin with though.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Interesting concept. Might be better with full on controls. I also loved the beating tiles

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Very cool - like the concept- the timing was difficult, but satisfying when the little green guy took out an enemy.

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Really original... but really unpleasant to play! The sounds and pulsing boxes were very cool, but what you were actually doing just was no fun for me. That may just be me, everybody has different tastes, but I couldn't get past the first level, for lack of willingness to try.

Sounds like it speeds up on later levels? That would've helped a lot in terms of putting it up with the controls and taking more time to give it a shot. I didn't need 2 seconds to decide whether to turn or move!

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I love how this combines turn-based with timed in a such a creative way! Great job!

Lerc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Brain. must. now. think. in. discrete. steps. I. hate. you. for. doing. this. to. me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]