April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrian Madness

by ThatOtherPerson - Jam Entry

Try to eat as many squares as you can without being eaten yourself. You can only eat squares with a lower level then you, and the level is indicated by the color. Use the arrow keys as the controls.

This is the first time we've written a game, and we enjoyed doing it. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to remove all the bugs, so many are still left. It's somewhat unfinished, but we might try to finish it in the future.

Update: The bug preventing the game from running in Mozilla Firefox has been fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#188Innovation(Jam)3.24
#208Theme(Jam)3.44
#360Graphics(Jam)2.88
#410Humor(Jam)1.25
#470Audio(Jam)1.13
#470Overall(Jam)2.60
#482Fun(Jam)2.26
#502Mood(Jam)1.96

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice work! I couldn't tell which square I controlled at first. I was also able to eat squares of the same color. Enjoyed the look of the squares as they moved across the board and also liked how you tied speed to the colors. Would like to see some audio added. Thanks for sharing!

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

I've failed to work out the controls here completely... What am I supposed to press to make anything happen?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

The arrow keys. Woops, I can't believe I forgot to say that. Also, it's rather hard to differentiate your square from the others.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

Nothing happens. Just a colored square that doesn't move...

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

It was really hard to figure out which square I could control. I noticed I got to yellow after eating some reds, but I died after that somehow. I suddenly disappeaered (as in no yellows on the screen and I didn't touch anything other than red or orange) and then it said game over. :|
I don't know if it's a bug or I just missed it, but o'well. It could be a nice game with some improvements. Right now it's an alright game. :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

Thanks for the comments! Since it was the first game we've created, we didn't really know how to prioritize our time. I probably should have focused on getting it playable as soon as possible so we could test it, but I focused on rather unimportant things like making the rectangles flip instead. Overall, though, it was an educational experience, and I hope we can submit a much better entry next Ludum Dare :D

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54am

could be fun with more time. Must refresh for restart game. Good luck for the futur.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Cool idea. Was pretty fun

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

The idea is fun, I couldn't seem to get the actual play consistent though. Controls worked well, but it was difficult to catch my initial prey easily. Good start, keep at it!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Hmm, on my browser (Firefox, latest), the screen draws, then goes blank except for what seems like my square. Nothing seems to work after that.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Same problem as SmilingCat here.

bytegrove says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Best Mondrian entry I've seen so far! The "flip effect" was really neat and I think it would've been interesting if you'd utilised it in the gameplay a bit more, like for example make it possible to eat only cards that are "flipping away" from you, especially as the level system felt a bit out of place.
Really nice work for being your first game! Congrats! :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Interesting! I applaud your concept. The ability to add that level of complexity to something fairly sparse is quite a feat. Though you may have gone a bit too far with the complexity and a bit too far with the minimalism. I had a hard time following what was going on or what i was even controlling at first, once i figured it out, the amount of information I needed to glean from the interface to figure out how to play was overwhelming.

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I like the way the squares move. However, I have to agree with some of the other players, it's a bit difficult to see the difference your own square and the rest.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I really like the concept and the flipping looks good ;)

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very nice work, with a nice inspiration on the works of Mondrian, a tipiccaly minimalist artist. There is a background in this game and I like it very much. The gameplay is a bit basic, but challenging, I really enjoyed playing your game.

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I loved the idea! I feel like the player needed more representation and sometimes I died when I felt like I was the one who ate first.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very cool! I like this a lot!

I'd say an outline around the player's square would help a lot... especially since respawn after death is instant.

Also, I could never quite prove it, but I really feel like there were several times that I died when I shouldn't have. Maybe something wrong with the detection algorithm?

Other than that I really like the color upgrade mechanic.

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice idea. I would have reversed the gradient so that dark colours have less levels then bright ones like red, yellow, red, etc.
Sounds would definetly improve the amosphrere. But overall this abstract game is fun to play ^^
Well done :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:39am

Couldn't really work out how to score, not lose lives. Reading other comments do agree needs clearer difference for player tile, and perhaps a couple of short tutorial levels... or just text to explain ingame.

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:05am

Not too bad. I like the innovation you've got going. Cool stuff. Well done

CaseyHardman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:13am

I found it rather chaotic and difficult to understand what was happening while playing. My square seemed to be so slow that finding a square I could eat was more a matter of where that square spawned than it was my reaction time; it'd have to spawn near me if I wanted to eat it before something else did.

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:09am

Congratulations on your guy's first game. It was interesting, but hard to know when it was lower or higher, and some times I felt like I was randomly dieing with no reason at all. But again, it's your first game, so very well done. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]