April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

But... I can't draw anything!

by Worse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Developed on Windows7 using Python2 and Pygame. Should run on Linux if you have Pygame installed. There's no audio.

This game simulates painting with a brush. You have to regularly dip your brush into paint in order to draw, and you have to mix the colors by yourself. It is not really a game in the usual sense, but you can try to replicate any image files by drawing over them, and receive numeric feedback about their matching.

I think this "game" represents minimalism by reducing color drawing to a single simple mechanic of pressing (left click) your brush (mouse cursor) to the paper, while still (at least theoretically) allowing complex images to be painted.

There is an in-game manual.

Postmortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/03/postmortem-12/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Innovation3.72
#437Overall3.28
#438Fun3.11
#623Graphics2.94
#856Theme3.22
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

magnpeas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Very cool idea! I could see myself getting sucked into this for a while :)

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

This was a really fun painting simulator. I found it hard to match the resemblance in the game portion, but enjoyed painting.

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:36am

Really cool! I think I spent the most time with this one.

Kinda hard to pin-point the humor...I guess that depends on what the user creates. :P

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:17pm

That was an interesting concept. Although I'm not that good at drawing so I'm not sure how the resemblance works. Good job anyway.

doos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I'm giving you 5/5 for the graphics because my drawing was awesome.. :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Really fun! It took me a while to figure out that I had to drag the cursor through the paint in order to get more on my brush, but once I did I made a really awesome ball :D

I still can't draw :(

May 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice painting simulator! I played with it for a while. It would be nice if you could see the size of the brush that you are using.

hissssssssss says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:58am

There were a few bugs in it, but it managed to create a pretty good impression of brush painting, right down to swirling your mouse cursor to pick up paint.
After comparing resemblance, the image disappeared.
Instead of paint making transparent trail, it blends the colour with white, which is good for normal painting but bad for painting over pictures.
I'm really impressed with this. Amazing job!

galman says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Really cool brush painting simulator! It's really nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]