April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Echidna

by Aerlynn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

More of an audiovisual experience, less of a game. Also part of a bigger idea I have in mind, trying to see if the basics of it work.

Also, sadly, I haven't had the time to spend a lot of time on this (probably only about 14 - 18 hours). There are a lot of stuff I wish i'd done better, but lol, it's LD :D

WASD to move
Mouse to look

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Audio3.59
#247Mood3.28
#726Graphics2.81
#917Theme3.15
#1192Innovation2.13
#1290Overall2.21
#1326Fun1.58
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

Felt like I couldn't move (or at least super slowly). Don't know if I was doing something wrong, but would totally make movement less restrictive so I could "explore the space"

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40am

Very cool atmosphere, as Funtastic said though the movement seems a bit odd.

Really like the ambient music :)

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Okay, the atmosphere was nice, but there isn't much to be done or to see, though...

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Atmosphere is perfect, unfortunately it's not much a game :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Wow that's freaky-bizarro, I love it!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

Ultra creepy, loved the atmosphere. Though I'm not entirely sure what I'm supposed to be doing, I did hit quite a large number of the balls haha.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice experience (...but it's not a game ;)

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:39pm

A good atmospheric start of a game. I liked the simple start screen indicating what to use. With the beat I was expecting a heart, or thought I was in a blood vessel. Maybe later. :)

cahman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:15am

Very nice atmosphere! I don't know you're intended project, but the movement was a little slow for just exploring.

If the sphere's palpitated with the beat, that'd be pretty sweet!

gilmore606 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:49am

I like the floaty inertia-ish movement, I figured that was part of the atmosphere. Cool demo.

JohnnySix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:29am

5 starts for audio - but a little something extra would have been cool - some acceleration and less sensitive mouselook, with perhaps a little ship or something to guide through the planets/spheres etc. Do more globes spawn? I did spend about 10 minutes trying to collect them all. :D

May 4, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice mood! The movement felt a bit weird (even though it was an interesting choice not to use the standard first person controller).

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Fantastic sound and atmosphere. I would have carried on and tried to hit every ball, but the movement speed put me off.

Would have been interesting to see where you'd have taken this game next, if you had more time.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice Atmosphere, but i don't understand the objective.

aaron9000 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:45am

It looks and sounds nice. Not 100% sure what I am supposed to do though.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:10am

Not a lot of queues or landmarks for speed - maybes some particles that can streak by? Felt like I was standing still.

Sanguine says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

Very cool atmosphere, the audio was perfect and I think it was an interesting experience :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]