April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Simple Difficulties

by Wet Heads - Jam Entry

Notes? NOTES?!
We have been coding almost 40 hours during last 72.
We tired.
We'll write some constructive notes later.

Yeah.. one more thing.
left arrow/a - turn left
right arrow/d - turn right
p/Pause - pause (o, rly?)
t - turn on/off drawing your trace (why not?)
mouse wheel - scaling (yep, negative scale is pretty cool)
q - to skip level (well, if you cannot go throught it.. Noone will judge you, right?)
LMB - to shoot...

And you are snake. Snake that gonna be simple. Eat apples, fight enemies and... Enjoy gaming!


UPD
Known bugs:
- The second "Level complete!" notice, which should turn on "the simpliest" mode, makes the game freeze. Sometimes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Fun(Jam)3.64
#189Audio(Jam)3.19
#234Humor(Jam)2.29
#292Overall(Jam)3.07
#373Mood(Jam)2.63
#393Innovation(Jam)2.57
#405Theme(Jam)2.86
#443Graphics(Jam)2.57
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Enjoyed this very much! Very cute, smooth controls too. :) Music was quite a shock though!

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Fun little game, music would be better if the volume were a bit lower. I did like spamming rockets at the hordes of bad guys, so many bad guys sometimes.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Epic :P. Found it was fun... until I left clicked... then it was outrageously fun :D. Great Job!

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

Mmm ? I was stuck trying every key on my keyboard to shoot with my brand new missile launcher and then some incredibles things started to happen. I had fun with thesquare version and the debug red line but seriously you should remove dev key before submit, now I'm not really sure about your intentions for the gameplay. Is the differents versions of the game are differents levels ?

Wet Heads says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:11am

>Music was quite a shock though!
>music would be better if the volume were a bit lower
Sorry, we hadn't pro musician..

>Great Job!
Thank you!

>I was stuck trying every key on my keyboard to shoot with my brand new missile launcher
Well, if you would read the notes, you would saw that LMB is the shooting button.

>...and the debug red line but seriously you should remove dev key before submit
Well, I thought it's fun to see the whole your way at the level.

>Is the differents versions of the game are differents levels?
The idea was in simplification, minimalisation of the "snake" game. From level to level.. From super-modern to the classic.

Thank you all for your feedback! It's important for us.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:06pm

This game is really hard. :P Even though I tried to use the rocket launcher all the time, I still got more and more bad guys. And the worst thing: They are all coming at you and you by accident pick up a snowflake gun. It would be nice to be able to select a weapon once you picked it up. :D
Really great game. I liked it a lot.

lanz says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Hey it was fun!

Broxxar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Why use left mouse button for shoot and not use WASD for controls? No consequence for being hit my enemies makes this pretty meh. All you can do is slide around mowing down WAY too many awkward moving enemies that ignore any collisions with walls.

Wet Heads says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:03pm

>Even though I tried to use the rocket launcher all the time, I still got more and more bad guys
Well, who's said that rocket launcher is the best choise?)

>Hey it was fun!
Cool, we've hoped for it!)

>Why use left mouse button for shoot and not use WASD for controls?
WASD and arrows both works actually. If you give us more information, we can try to find the problem.

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:55pm

never had as much fun with a snake variation since primary school. loved the weapons, rockets practicly ask for the flight of the valkyries. great job)

geckojsc says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Brilliant! Very fun, enjoyable and creative soundtrack. The graphics could maybe have been improved, but it didn't detract from the experience.

psc1997 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Wooow!
I loved that game!
This is very, very, very, very good!
But... Can You record timelapse next time? ;>
I very want to see how do You doing cool things like that ;-)

Norgg says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Pretty fun, but the levels lasted longer than they needed to. I'd have found it more exciting if there was some danger too, I spent the first couple minutes desperately avoiding the walls assuming they'd kill me.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:02am

Music was very nice, although I couldn't seem to progress past the first level. I did really enjoy the concept of snake with weapons though, grats!

May 20, 2013 @ 6:28pm

It was fun to mess around with, but there was no real goal, no way to win or lose... Also, I found it really hard to control the snake and aim at the same time... Maybe it was just me? Great effort guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]