April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by deammer - Jam Entry

Hello! We've made Cloaked for the jam! Cloaked is an atmospheric exploration game set in the ruins of an ancient temple.

Hint: you'll probably want to stay in the light.

Controls: WASD/Arrow Keys and Space to jump.


Zach Lowrance - Light Programming
Anthony Coffey - Animation and tilesets
Amy Saunders - Tilesets and level art
Brian Thompson - Art and level art
Jason Sobotka - Music and SFX
Max Osta - Level Design
John Pechacek - Level Design
Wes Boddie - Backgrounds and Title Art
Sterling Handrick - Concept Art
Maxime Preaux - Programming

Thanks to Chevy Ray for FlashPunk and Matt Thorson for OGMO!

Downloads and Links




Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

A frustrating experience with great graphics, Cloaked ultimately suffers from poor level design; the exits are hard to spot and a failed jump spells almost certain failure, which wouldn't be a big problem except that the game implements permadeath. The behavior of the gems and glowing light orbs seemed inconsistent. I played Cloaked 10 times and got midway through the third room before giving up.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

A really great looking game. I've messed with dynamic tile based lighting before, so I'm impressed you've manage to implement it so smoothly in a Flash game.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

It felt good, and the graphics are nice to look at, but in a web browser it ran terribly (on my machine at least).

This is an excellent time for some optimization tips! I ran it through TheMiner (an excellent profiler you should use), and ShadowMask.update is the culprit. A few key reasons:

- You're generating tons of new BitmapData per frame (via flashpunk Image::createBuffer), which could be solved by just re-using objects instead of making new ones.

- A big issue is the use of getter functions - you're spending about 10% of your time calling a function to get something you already have access to. Instead of using 'baseAlpha', just use '_baseAlpha' directly. Using the property introduces 4 million function calls you don't need.

- Inlining RGBHEXtoARGBHEX would be a fantastic idea too, you're spending 5% of your time doing some simple bit twiddling, because you have the overhead of 2.5 million function calls to deal with.

I hope that helps!

deammer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

@GertJohnny wow, that profiler is amazing. We're improving the performance quite a bit thanks to your advice. Thanks! By the way, your game is quite amazing as well. Nice use of Box2D :)

@Julian we're thinking of improving our levels, they do feel cramped and are sometimes frustrating to go through. Thanks for the feedback!

GertJohnny says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Awesome - huge improvement! There's one other big thing i'd recommend - the way you're updating the mask now requires you to do a really expensive copyPixels inside updateBuffer. If you just draw to the Image's buffer directly, you could skip that expensive copyPixels and save another 15%. I can run the game at maybe 55ish fps, but with that last tweak I could hit 60fps no problem.

syawqy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:58pm

a great graphic, but there's a let down on level design, because it feel to cramped

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:02am

Abrupt as fuck...

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:03am

Was a pretty nice platformer. Really atmospheric until I realised I was timed, and if I died I went to the start. Other than that, that was a cool game.

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:51pm

It felt like a lot of good artists/programmers didn't really have a creative idea and didn't like the theme. You guys are talented but I don't know why you focused your efforts on making this game and not one more fitting with the theme.

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Beautiful and absorbing game. Keep up the great work.

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:20am

Beautiful design work and love the main character. Gameplay hurt it though...I found myself getting stuck in places, and even started one level off the screen. May be more playable if you expand the light a bit to compensate.

May 19, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Loved the mood and look but controls were awkward felt like the character was a car since he kept going after i stopped moving him. Also frustrating to have a high jump but always hitting things

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]