April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Suprema

by dook - Jam Entry

EDIT: I forgot some files in the windows download. Try again :)

A simple puzzle game about combining basic geometric shapes. Made in Unity3. Sounds from Bfxr.

The game spawns a large group of simple shapes. The player has to gather the shapes into groups of three that all share their basic features, or all three differ. E.g. three round objects, one of each color. It probably sounds more complicated than it is.

The game and style is somehow inspired by what I read about Kazimir Malevich on wikipedia :P

Give it a try!

WebPlayer probably looks best and the site has instructions (The game probably doesn't make much sense without these...)

The only major missing part from what I planned is a view of all the "art" that would result from valid choices after Game Over.

Only in the Jam because I ran out of time :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#174Innovation(Jam)3.29
#245Overall(Jam)3.21
#305Mood(Jam)2.82
#361Fun(Jam)2.68
#386Graphics(Jam)2.79
#396Audio(Jam)2.19

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I enjoyed this one a lot! I liked how the instructions were written in a way that incorporated the minimalism theme while letting you know how to play. Solid effort!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Fun to do... took a bit of thinking. Got 2 Suprema on second attempt, will play again when more time. Good one!

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I liked that a lot. Visually lovely and actually weirdly fun too. I feel that randomization of shapes you get could be better, after about 3 suprema it was stuggle to find anymore without resetting. Great stuff.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I liked it alot, got 10 Suprema on 3rd attempt, great entry into the competition, probably my 3rd favorite entry in LD26 overall.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Very cool concept.

One suggestion - if the player starts running low on shapes to use (i.e., no supremas possible), they should be able to get more shapes without sacrificing time. On that one point I felt like I was being penalized for doing well.

Other than that, great job.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I agree with smiling cat, I got one screen down to <3 items I felt like I should get a new screen free in that scenario as well as probably a point bonus.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

skipped reading the tutorial --> played the game --> fuck i dont get it --> back to tutorial --> ahhhh

nice simple game

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Thanks for the feedback :) Honestly the timer was one of the last things I did just to make the game more challenging and discourage the player from simply 'refreshing' the items over and over.

A bonus for clearing or almost clearing the screen is a good idea (I don't even think the whole set of shapes is divisible by three now that I think about it...)

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice and addicting! I don't think the player needs to be able to move around.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice puzzler!

MrBlade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I couldn't figure out how to beat this for some reason? Pretty good game overall, the same sounds over, and over, and over, got a bit irritating after a while. But other than that, great entry!

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Oh... perhaps I should have been clear that you can't beat the game. It's all just about getting a high a score as possible until the time runs out :) I had lots of ideas for more levels and such but I ran out of time.

dotteri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I would like rate your game but
"There should be 'suprema_Data'
folder next to the executable" =(

I use Wine (Linux).

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

@dotteri
Oh! So I have. It's fixed now :)

rubapi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Great concept and simple game. It is art!

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I found the game difficult to figure out at first, but eventually it made sense. Overall, it's a pretty solid entry.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I enjoyed this game! Very funny well done :)

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Dook, sorry to say this but I can't play your game. Under wine (Linux) I had an error due to a bug on wine. And under Windows XP is not a valid 32 bit application.

At least, thanks to fix the link.

dook says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:29pm

@dotteri, oh that's too bad. I don't have any other way to test it right now I'm afraid. And I only have Unity3 so I can't export it to Linux right now.

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Neat idea.

rogerklotz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Fun and challenging puzzle game, but as someone with red-green colorblindness (5% of males have it) it was a little more challenging than it should have been :P

If the green (brown?) had been blue or cyan or something it would help a lot.

dook says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:55pm

@rogerklotz: I know! Sorry. A friend of mine pointed it out almost right after the deadline :) Definitely something to keep in mind for any colour based game. But I blame the artists and the paintings I copied the colours from :P

ananasblau says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:20am

Super intolerant against variations, that makes it a bit hard to play. But it's a very unique game, well done.

dook says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:15am

@ananasblau: Hi, and thanks for the comment. What do you mean by 'intolerant against variations'? :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]