April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bug Hunting

by kannas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A bit less features than what i wanted, but this time i am really satisfied xD

You find instructions on the page, but to sum it up:

steer with A,D , accelerate with W. MOUSE to SHOOT.

Goal of the game, destroy the black square of DOOM!!

If you feel like it, write your best score on the comments. Have fun!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#625Fun2.91
#775Graphics2.74
#852Humor1.85
#888Overall2.86
#1034Innovation2.41
#1047Theme2.97
#1065Mood2.32

Comments

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

Cool! Got to 2,928,650 on stage 7.

The movement started off feeling kind of clumsy, but then it really grew on me and I got into it. I like the feel of this in general and the drag between fighting off the enemies and destroying the square.

I think it could do with some more urgency though, currently you can just dodge and fight off the bugs getting infinite health and points indefinitely, while gradually killing off the square. If you could only get health back from killing firewall blocks or if there was a timelimit on rounds it'd give a bit more incentive to target the square at more risk to your own health. In the end I just let myself get destroyed.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Fun game! Control feels a little bit awkward, but like what @Norgg said, it kind of grew on me as well. Still, would've preferred a regular WASD UP/LEFT/BOTTOM/RIGHT controls :)

Those damn bugs are fast :P

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

The trick is learning how to use the boundaries to bounce around. Glad you guys like it xD

MaxguN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Looks good and quite fun to play but had to change keyboard layout to play it properly. An alternative left-right-up keys would've been nice. Good job anyway :)

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

This game is wild, it gets very crazy very quickly. I don't know if I wasn't hearing anything because of my computer or if it was the game, but if it was the game it would have benefited a lot from a little audio

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Totally ok game. Would have liked to see some more eyecandy, that would had made it really cool.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I have the same issue with the controls, but they never grew on me :0

It is fun though, and I like the bouncing around. Once I got the hang of moving around it kind of didn't have any real incentive to finish the win condition. Good game though!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

This was a solid fun game to play and very pretty visually.
I found the controls quite interesting and different once I got used to them.

The only real fault would be the lack of any other enemy types. (From what I ran into. I got to stage 5.)
It would have been nice to have seen some variation. Also some sound would have been nice. ;)

Awesome game, well done!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

377800 points. I really like the controls, makes it very fun. There doesn't seem to be much reason to go for the black square though, you can just rack up points by shooting the bugs.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42am

This was a lot of fun - I really liked having a primary objective in the stage as opposed to just killing so many bugs or surviving for a certain amount of time.

I actually really enjoyed the controls - had an asteroids kind of feel - but I wish that there was a way to move backwards as well. Great entry!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:44am

I liked the really wild movements, especially the bouncing. By late in the game, I never stopped moving and just kept my finger on the 'go' button. I wonder if you could have gotten away with removing the option to stop.
I liked switching my attention between the main goal and fending off enemies, though I agree that the amount of health pickups made it a bit too easy to just stay alive and gain points.
Score 541000!

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Once you release your inhibitions and start going REALLY REALLY fast and firing nonstop it gets really fun! Took me a bit to realize that, though :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:31am

Link appears to be down at the moment...

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:19am

fun game to play, a bit hard to control! :)

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:43am

Solid as hell, I actually quite like the bouncy walls and stuff, makes the whole thing feel really chaotic and well... great :) Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]