April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hiddensquares

by Tozy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here I am in the last 15 minutes!
I would like the game to speak for itself.

/*EDIT: it seems that the game cant speak by itself good enough so I'm copypasting the "instructions":

"SPOILER HINT!!!!!!!!!!!:
the goal is to hide all the squares using areas of their same color.
when two circles overlap, the color changes again, so you can toy a little with the game and see which patterns could be good to solve each level. 3rd level is way too difficult after the first too, the easiest way to win is being fast in that one."

Have fun ;)
*/

Thanks to Puccini who invited me to jam in his house and to the people who helped me in the IRC channel.

The music was done in Sibelius, font found in dA, coded with flashpunk in AS3, soon I'll upload all the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#51Innovation4.01
#77Theme4.14
#128Audio3.49
#144Mood3.50
#243Overall3.50
#266Graphics3.50
#581Fun2.96
#826Humor1.87

Comments

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55am

Oh, i see we have an extra hour... i will tune the colors a little, some of them appear in more than one level.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43am

Found it quite hard, but I like how the circles and visibility interact, was that hard to program?

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

not too hard, it's just an "invert" draw and some custom collisions. you can see the source if you want, 6 or 7 basic classes with a web lines of code.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

Very original concept, good music and decent art, too. Level 3 was a bit too hard for me though. :)

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

I don't fully understand the gameplay
but I like when the color overlap each other
music too, feel relaxed

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

Not entirely sure what I'm doing, but I had a great time nonetheless!

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

This may just be the best LD26 game I've played so far.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Interesting concept, but it took me some time to understand what I was supposed to do. Nice music and psychedelic visuals !

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

I don't entirely get it but the audio and graphics were really nice, I think I might just leave it on as background music... :)

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

I was hooked as soon as the .swf loaded. I couldn't figure out how to pass the third stage... but I had fun anyway. I wish I could program this pretty - I'll have to check out the source.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Sweet, very tricky & innovative. Might have to come back to this one... you stumped me with #5 :)

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

Interesting gameplay, trippy visuals :)

hughsk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

This is a really interesting concept, great work! The puzzles are a little tricky, but I enjoyed it.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

ah, so beautiful

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Nice! Music and visuals give a very relaxing vibe :)

Gameplay is simple, yet engaging (and challenging! I'm still trying to beat the third level)

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Boy, that #3 level scalated quickly... I think I figured out the objective of each level, but I couldn't crack the 3rd level... :(
Maybe a shortcut to advance level, just so we can appreciate all levels? ;)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

As we discussed in the IRC, fiendishly difficult puzzles from fiendishly simple mechanics. Looks gorgeous when it goes all crazy as well. the music is starting to dig into my brain.

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

this gam is dum

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

I don't understand the game, and can't beat level 3. Otherwise nice music, and the circles effect looks cool!

cardboard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19am

I got to level 7! I probably won't come back later to try to beat it again because it has already gotten a solid hour of playtime, and I have other games to rate ;) Nice color composition and use of circles. Great job.

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

Fun game. It is however very hard.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Original, pretty and hard. I like it!

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Thanks for checking out my game! Wow this a really unique concept and i like the graphics and music. Nice job :)

Smaxx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Interesting, yet very confusing. I still don't get it 100% I think. :)

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I didn't understand how to beat a level, but it was fun clicking around.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35am

I updated because there was a silly bug at level 8 at prevented you from winning (the colors from the background did not mach the ones of the squares, rendering the winning condition impossible). That's the only change I made... If I could i would add more levels before the 3th to make the difficulty curve smoother :P
Thanks to all of you who played the game for all the comments! It's been some really useful feedback ^^

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Amazing atmosphere,quite psychedelic. Luv it!

May 1, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I can't get past the third level and i'm not sure i'm trying to do the right thing. can you give a small spoiler help ?

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I understood it, but it needs better level progression.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20pm

SPOILER HINT:
the goal is to hide all the squares using areas of their same color.
when two circles overlap, the color changes again, so you can toy a little with the game and see which patterns could be good to solve each level. 3rd level is way too difficult after the first too, the easiest way to win is being fast in that one.

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Quite good, although I was *really* confused by the puzzle...

karsyf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:27pm

This hurts my brain but is great

May 2, 2013 @ 12:09am

Really great idea. Maybe the level design and the difficulty is not totally good. But nice work.

wademcgillis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I'm not sure how to progress in the game.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:10pm

A bit difficult and hard to find the trick, but very nice idea and atmosphere.

rezoner says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:00am

Kinda way too hard even with instructions. Top notch sound experience!

glbs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:19pm

This is really interesting and the visuals are excellent. As you said level 3 is pretty difficult even with the trick and the game crashed after the fourth, but I'm retrying it!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Even though it was not designed as a sandbox game at first, I enjoyed this very quiet and peaceful game for the nice visual you can generate. Like other people, I got stuck on puzzle 3, probably too mind bending for me. I think the game mechanic should be explained with a step by step tutorial to lead the player. Good game!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Fantastic game. Intelligent mechanic and really hard. I love puzzles, but I admit that your game destroyed a little my early engagement. The second level could be easier to keep maitaining my attention on the top! Congratz anyway!!

Logun says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Very cool. I didn't achieve all the puzzles :) fucked my brain ^^

avidgamerNino says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I couldnt get passed the third level. I dig the audio, and the mood was still good even with my frustration of the first level. Maybe something to train me better on how to pass level 3. I saw your tip about being fast and i just started clicking fast i somehow got the middle purple square to go away but it came back. Great take on the theme.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:10am

It's really hard, in my opinion.

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:36pm

ugh, I guess I suck in puzzle games and this one's no exception. first I didn't know what to do, then when I read the instructions here, I didn't know HOW to do it. so I clicked around wildly until the performance dropped significantly...
but the game looks good and creates some nice moiré patterns.

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:01am

lovely audio, you were right about 3/9 being hard

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I tried again after reading the hints, but still can't win level 3. I guess I have to click faster, but I can't.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]